Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
07-31-2010, 08:46 AM
Post: #31
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
(07-30-2010 07:10 AM)cheaper_popcorn Wrote:  Have you checked to make sure your HTML and CSS is supported properly? Maybe unrelated, I don't know. Also, do you have any firewalls running on your PC or in your router that may be blocking the connection?

I doubt that the HTML and CSS are causing any of this and I don't see any errors in it.
Also when setting up the local radio station it doesn't work.

I shutt down all firewall stuff I could find, but the result remains the same.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-23-2011, 09:59 PM
Post: #32
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
Hi @ all,

I've got the C-200 with the latest firmware installed.

Same problem: "could not play" confused

Anything new about this issue?

It's a little bit disappointing that the problem seems to be still not fixed, although the first post in this thread was over a year ago Sad

kind regards,
michael
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2011, 12:39 PM
Post: #33
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
@his.dudeness

I never got it to work using the internalIP of my streaming server.
However it works when I go over the internet.

I configured my PCH-C200 to use http://myowndomain.com:25698/listen.mp3 and it works just fine.

I have no idea why it doesn't work with my internal IP.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2011, 09:54 PM (This post was last modified: 02-28-2011 10:03 PM by His.Dudeness.)
Post: #34
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
(02-28-2011 12:39 PM)Skanda007 Wrote:  @his.dudeness

I configured my PCH-C200 to use http://myowndomain.com:25698/listen.mp3 and it works just fine.

I have no idea why it doesn't work with my internal IP.

Hi and thanks for your help! Shy

I just played around a little bit: The problem is not that the streaming server has a private IP. The problem only occurs if the streaming server and the NMT are on the same subnet. Huh

I used a server on the other side of a site-2-site vpn. It has a private IP but is not on the same subnet as the NMT.

So theoretically it should work if you put another internal subnet in your LAN and let your router route between them.

The whole thing with the routing and streaming to the internet and back would be a nice workaround for the moment.

BUT: This is really a small bug. As far as I know, the fist post about it was more than one year ago.

IF THE DEVELOPERS REALLY CARED, IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED A LONG TIME AGO!!! Angry

IMHO: Instead of adding those fancy cover-art-juke-box-thingies that need to scan the whole internet before they can be used, they should fix the bugs and create a usable music player that has more features than my portable cd player from 1995 ... Dodgy

regards,
michael
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2011, 03:40 PM
Post: #35
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
I agree, the music part of the C-200 is bogus, unfortunately.

As a big fan of Winamp i'll try this tonight.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-10-2011, 11:13 AM
Post: #36
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
(11-22-2009 05:33 PM)Helskov Wrote:  Thanks for this guide.
Im using my PC to play some free DRM protected musik files in my living room over the PCH. Smile
This post is a couple of years old, but maybe you're still around. Are you using a 100 or 200 series Popcorn hour? I'm trying to make this work on a HDX-1000, but I get "Could not play" with YouSee Play DRM protected wma files. Mp3 works fine.

Is it even possible to stream DRM wma on a 110 series via Shoutcast/Ecast? I know I can't play them via a network share, but I'm hoping this guide could make it possible via Shoutcast streaming.

Great guide btw. Made everything easy to set up.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-31-2012, 10:12 AM
Post: #37
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
I dont know about DRMed files, but mp3/ogg seems to play fine. The key is that the PCH (i have a C200) requires dns hostnames instead of IP addresses.

So if pch = pch.myhome.net =192.168.46.43,
h t t p://192.168.46.43:8000/foo/blah.mp3 or h t t p://192.168.46.43:8000/foo wont work but, h t t p://pch.myhome.net:8000/foo will.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2012, 01:00 AM (This post was last modified: 07-31-2012 01:07 AM by stefkoch.)
Post: #38
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
Unfortunately that DNS idea with a hostname instead of an IP
did not work with my A110.
I added a hostname to /etc/hosts to point to my streaming server,
added a pls file as web service with all kinds of URL-combinations,
actually put the pls-file on the same (web)server which streams
Code:
http://ds412.net/index.pls serves:

[playlist]
numberofentries=1
File1=http://ds412.net:6666/mpd.mp3
Title1=SKmpd
Length1=-1
Version=2
(at least THAT "web service" works...) but then i also still got that famous "cannot play".
I use mpd on a DS412-NAS to output to a shoutcast stream
and i tried different URL combinations which all work fine with other clients on the LAN e.g. vlc.
Dodgy

I have not tried that subnet thing yet,
but i do not own that kind of professional network equipment anyway,
my router only supports one subnet... (!)
COME ON SYABAS, please send me a second router so i can make this work.
Could you please make it a FRITZ!Box 7390 while you're at it.
Big Grin

Alternatively i would take an UPDATED A110 FIRMWARE with a fix for this
really ANNOYING bug.
I come to the conclusion that i do NOT own a "NETWORKED" media tank AFTER ALL!
Shame on that name... really.
Angry
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2012, 11:33 AM (This post was last modified: 10-08-2012 11:36 AM by dban.)
Post: #39
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
tnx for tips .
this worked on a200
Code:
echo "192.168.5.75 hmd hmd.gigaset.lan hmd.gigaset.lan" >> /etc/hosts

run stream
Code:
<a href="http: / /hmd:8000" aod prebuf="32768">hmd local</a><br>
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-21-2012, 10:27 PM
Post: #40
RE: Playing music with Winamp from PC to PCH
Thanks for that dban
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.



Smilies
:) ;) :cool: :D
:P :rolleyes: :shy: :(
:lightbulb: :angry: :-/ (A)
:heart: :dodgy: :blush: :huh:
:my: :sleepy: :exclamation: :S
[get more]

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  HOW TO : play 5.1 music tracks from a DVD using MPDJB (A110) YOGAMAN 0 3,087 12-22-2009 03:42 PM
Last Post: YOGAMAN
  How-to: Get those none working avi files playing! - Updated 20/07/09 chris57 14 25,277 08-21-2009 08:40 AM
Last Post: swattpopcorn
  success: mlb.tv playing off the PCH! (in ubuntu) eliotw 1 8,406 04-05-2009 07:33 PM
Last Post: tracerhand
  [MUSIC] Embedded Artwork Organization AlexNC 18 22,677 03-10-2009 08:53 PM
Last Post: bigkid
  Frontcover When playing MP3s OptiX 0 3,139 02-16-2009 09:29 PM
Last Post: OptiX
  How to get non working avi files playing chris57 2 11,075 10-15-2008 08:34 PM
Last Post: bhartman

Forum Jump: