Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
[AUDIO] Support for lot's of mp3's
01-18-2008, 03:39 PM
Post: #16
 
MP3s\Artist\Album\Tracks.MP3

I've found that my method of sorting my MP3s has helped with almost every application. Tag&Rename may be the best (although sometimes too robust) application for ensuring all your MP3s maintain the same file and tagging conventions (not to mention it can download album artwork for you).

I never expected my PH to be great at displaying pictures. I was already sure that many of my pictures are too large in file size to effectively stream.

Playing MP3s, however, should be a snap. There is plenty of time for the PH to transition between songs (it can buffer the next song as it is playing another). There are multiple apps that download and display album art. MP3 tags are easily read and displayed... just generate an HTML page and display album art from a given directory or download it.

I enjoy the product, but as PH mentioned, the MP3 playback capabilities are most disappointing. The unit simply isn't functional in this aspect... at least not over MyiHome.
Find all posts by this user
01-19-2008, 05:58 PM
Post: #17
 
daniel_owen_uk Wrote:Pressing play not select will play all files in a folder, and soon no need to transcode flac (support has been added in latest beta, although I haven't had a chance to test it yet).

Ok, that works. Thank you.

I don't want to test betas, I will use FUPPES until the new firmware is ready.

The SMC box has a nice feature that will randomize the playback of all music tracks in a directory. It looks like the PH will not do that, unless I figure out how to make a randomized playlist.
Find all posts by this user
01-20-2008, 10:23 PM
Post: #18
 
one box to do one good thing, one at a time... I've had a Squeezebox before I got the A-100, and it is not going anywhere. It does audio streaming so well, and I don't have to turn on the projector just to select songs.
Find all posts by this user
01-27-2008, 09:45 PM
Post: #19
 
popcorn, have there been any results from your talks with Syabas regarding redoing the music section ?
Find all posts by this user
01-28-2008, 06:04 AM
Post: #20
 
forsaken Wrote:popcorn, have there been any results from your talks with Syabas regarding redoing the music section ?

[PH] We have discussed and it will take a while to redo the music section.

Popcorn Hour support team
Find all posts by this user
08-31-2008, 07:22 PM
Post: #21
RE:
(01-28-2008 06:04 AM)popcornhour Wrote:  
forsaken Wrote:popcorn, have there been any results from your talks with Syabas regarding redoing the music section ?

[PH] We have discussed and it will take a while to redo the music section.


the other capabilities of the PCH are realy great, but for mp3s i still have to use my PS3.

the biggest anoying thing of pch is, when playing an mp3 it just returns to the menu!! you have to select the next mp3 BY HAND! confused

when pch can play mp3s in a reasonable way,i can sell my ps3.

allright.. it has been 9 months now. any word on the mp3-play section redo??
Find all posts by this user
09-02-2008, 10:50 PM
Post: #22
RE: [AUDIO] Support for lot's of mp3's
If you hit play instead of the select button it will play every mp3 in the directory/folder.
Find all posts by this user
09-05-2008, 04:38 PM (This post was last modified: 09-05-2008 04:39 PM by AlexNC.)
Post: #23
RE: [AUDIO] Support for lot's of mp3's
(09-02-2008 10:50 PM)excal Wrote:  If you hit play instead of the select button it will play every mp3 in the directory/folder.
That's good to hear.

I heard there is not a 'shuffle' feature ... is this true? I hope not =(

Any word about an official release on an audio upgrade? Like the original poster, audio is a very important part of my media needs. I collect a lot of music, and have it all in mp3 format with embedded art in every file. It would be nice for PCH to use all the tags and embedded artwork that I spent such a long time organizing.
Find all posts by this user
09-05-2008, 04:55 PM
Post: #24
RE: [AUDIO] Support for lot's of mp3's
Nah unfortunately, so far there is really only talk about redoing the music section completely...but no official word on what that means or when it'll happen.

Shuffle i believe is available with Mihome and swisscenter...but those are streaming servers...meaning you need your computer on to use them.
Find all posts by this user
09-05-2008, 05:44 PM
Post: #25
RE: [AUDIO] Support for lot's of mp3's
(09-02-2008 10:50 PM)excal Wrote:  If you hit play instead of the select button it will play every mp3 in the directory/folder.


my god, i made myself look like an ass Dodgy
thanks for the tip (it works)
Find all posts by this user
09-05-2008, 06:33 PM (This post was last modified: 09-05-2008 06:36 PM by AlexNC.)
Post: #26
RE: [AUDIO] Support for lot's of mp3's
(09-05-2008 05:44 PM)DJCannonball Wrote:  
(09-02-2008 10:50 PM)excal Wrote:  If you hit play instead of the select button it will play every mp3 in the directory/folder.


my god, i made myself look like an ass Dodgy
thanks for the tip (it works)
You're not the only one that thought this. I have seen many other posts around the web stating the same thought you had - thinking it would only play one file at a time. That's why I was very happy that Excal said an entire directory could be played. I am very surprised and disappointed that 'Shuffle' is not there. That is a very basic feature that has been in every music player since the first CD's players were released - that is the beauty if digital. How it got missed for PCH is beyond me (shakes head). For gods sake, most cell phones can read mp3 tags and embedded artwork now adays. You would think a unit calling itself a 'media' player would be able to read mp3 tags, not just music.

Can you tell I am trying to shame the devs into adding this feature quickly =)
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Audio] No sound with Main AAC Profile frayaka 2 1,031 01-12-2014 11:06 PM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [AUDIO] No sound after passing trough Receiver - A-110 vitoraugusto 4 1,587 10-01-2013 04:52 PM
Last Post: vitoraugusto
  AC3 audio not detected by A-100? sarumbear 1 1,339 08-03-2013 12:55 AM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [Audio] [A110] Why is this audio "scratchy" sounding? hcour 0 1,242 05-20-2013 02:51 AM
Last Post: hcour
  [AUDIO] Noise at beginning of file play Iggy 0 1,340 01-23-2013 06:53 PM
Last Post: Iggy
  [audio] mopidy jkoks 7 4,668 12-16-2012 05:12 PM
Last Post: dizz-e
  [AUDIO] DLNA possibilities Djiest 1 1,522 12-02-2012 08:52 AM
Last Post: Djiest
  Should the A110 be able to play ts files with DTS HD MA audio? lchiu7 7 4,722 10-22-2012 10:59 PM
Last Post: lchiu7
  [Audio] Any way to adjust audio-video sync in A-100? rshri 4 1,890 10-22-2012 04:48 AM
Last Post: rshri
  [AUDIO] How to reduce DTS dynamic range ninodiz 0 1,425 10-19-2012 06:52 AM
Last Post: ninodiz

Forum Jump: