Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
Stream PC Audio to PCH?
04-24-2009, 07:02 PM (This post was last modified: 04-24-2009 07:17 PM by dc11ab.)
Post: #46
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
It wouldn't by any chance be a possibility to include mms protocol support with MDP (either over tcp or via the UDP proxy)?
(for instance with libmms)

That would open up for quite some internet radio stations.

Audio, video, disco - I hear, I see, I learn.
Wiki. Wiki? Wiki!
Find all posts by this user
04-24-2009, 09:14 PM
Post: #47
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(04-24-2009 07:02 PM)dc11ab Wrote:  It wouldn't by any chance be a possibility to include mms protocol support with MDP (either over tcp or via the UDP proxy)?
(for instance with libmms)

That would open up for quite some internet radio stations.

mms is already included.
Find all posts by this user
04-24-2009, 10:10 PM (This post was last modified: 04-24-2009 11:12 PM by dc11ab.)
Post: #48
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
Sweet, thank's for clarifying, Alan. I didn't see it on the MPD wiki (http://mpd.wikia.com/wiki/Features)
This must be tested!

EDIT: I got MPD playing my mp3's controlled by MPoD on my iPhone. This is simply great. But I could not get the mms:// streams playing. I'll bring the details of my issue up over at the mpd thread.

Though whatever goes with mms, I'll keep mpd on my NMT from now on.

Audio, video, disco - I hear, I see, I learn.
Wiki. Wiki? Wiki!
Find all posts by this user
08-20-2009, 01:00 PM
Post: #49
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
Thanks for this info. I almost got it to work. However the music stops and returns to page with the spotify link after one song in my PH. Spotify continues with the play list in the PC.
Does anyone have any idea on hoe to correct this.

Thanks in advance.

/per
Find all posts by this user
08-20-2009, 01:07 PM
Post: #50
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(08-20-2009 01:00 PM)pehjer Wrote:  Thanks for this info. I almost got it to work. However the music stops and returns to page with the spotify link after one song in my PH. Spotify continues with the play list in the PC.

I had the same problem with Icecast. All I had to do was turn off metadata in the DSP plugin for foobar2000. It seems the NMT can only handle raw audio data and not the intermittent song information.
Find all posts by this user
08-20-2009, 01:15 PM
Post: #51
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(08-20-2009 01:07 PM)timdp Wrote:  I had the same problem with Icecast. All I had to do was turn off metadata in the DSP plugin for foobar2000. It seems the NMT can only handle raw audio data and not the intermittent song information.

Thanks, but I use Icecast2 and edcast v3. Any idea of the settings I need to change?
Find all posts by this user
08-20-2009, 01:24 PM
Post: #52
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(08-20-2009 01:15 PM)pehjer Wrote:  Thanks, but I use Icecast2 and edcast v3. Any idea of the settings I need to change?
Those are the ones I use. There's an option in edcast.
Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user says Thank You to timdp for this post
10-13-2009, 10:12 PM (This post was last modified: 10-13-2009 10:14 PM by mattsjo.)
Post: #53
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
Hi,

I have tried jamcast (http://www.sdstechnologies.com) and it works...

Just install jamcast and create a html page with this link:
Code:
<a href="http://YOUR_JAMCAST_PC_IP:58641/Media/audio+mpeg/CaptureStream" aod>MP3</a>
The PCH will buffer the stream for about a minute (and the sound will therefore be a minute behind the PC) but when playing via Spotify this is not a big problem and the audio still streams while the PC sound card is muted.

Jamcast supports LPCM and WAV streams as well but the PCH don't like those and that's probably why the UPnp/DLNA way of streaming from jamcast doesn't work.

Good luck!

/Mattias
Find all posts by this user
10-17-2009, 10:34 PM
Post: #54
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
There is a new beta out for jamcast (0.9.7.32).
The stream URLs have changed, a Flac stream added and the buffer time is possible to configure.

These streams work with my A-100:

FLAC (new in 0.9.7.32):
http://server:58641/Media/audio/flac/CaptureStream
MP3 (320kbps):
http://server:58641/Media/audio/mpeg/CaptureStream

Does anyone know why the LPCM stream doesn't work?

/Mattias
Find all posts by this user
11-09-2009, 08:46 PM
Post: #55
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(11-07-2008 05:05 PM)stuffot Wrote:  I too is now a happy user of icecast and edcast-standalone! Big Grin

I can now enjoy Spotify.com in my speakersystem without any wires attached to my laptop.

My 108 Mbit wireless peaks at 2.5% usage and thats including spotifys 0.3 Mbit (up and down stream).

Thanx guys!

//S

Can someone explaing to me step by step how this is done?
I havent been successful
Find all posts by this user
11-09-2009, 09:47 PM
Post: #56
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(11-05-2008 10:38 AM)Strich9 Wrote:  I used edcast for winamp, Icecast2 for Win32. And created an AOD link to stream it on the PCH Smile

Maybe stupid question but anyway...

What is an AOD link on popcorn hour and how do you create it?
Find all posts by this user
11-13-2009, 09:55 AM
Post: #57
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
(11-09-2009 09:47 PM)peachmelba Wrote:  Maybe stupid question but anyway...

What is an AOD link on popcorn hour and how do you create it?

Hi,

you can find an example how to create an aod link in this wiki article:
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...ming_Audio

Did anyone get this kind of direct streaming to work with PCH-C200?
I tried with edcast/IceCast, ShoutCast and Jamcast but unfortunately none did work Huh

When I'm calling the stream by an aod link the audio playback screen appears for a moment and directly shows an error message "Could not play". Jamcast logfile looks likes this:
Code:
11.13.2009 09:09:15   HTTP/1.1 HEAD request: /Media/audio/mpeg/CaptureStream Host: 10.10.1.10:58641, User-Agent: Syabas/00-00-000000-00-000-400-000/00-000 Firefox/0.8.0+ (gaya3 TV Res1280x720;  Browser Res1100x656-32bits;  Res1280x720;  mac_addr=00.00.00.00.00.00), Range: bytes=0-0
11.13.2009 09:09:15   Initialized WASAPI shared mode loopback capture -> Default format PCM 32-bit 48kHz 2 channels, Capture format PCM 32-bit 48kHz 2 channels
11.13.2009 09:09:15   WARNING: Unacceptable request, range request header specified on non-seekable content.

So I guess Jamcast does not understand the information "Range: bytes=0-0", which comes with the http request from C200 when using aod.
I tested to call the stream by a link whithout the aod. This makes the Jamcast server start streaming to the PCH but it is not recognized as an audio stream and for that just displayed as text.

Maybe, C200's aod http request looks a bit different from that one the A100/A110 use. Can anybody please check his Jamcast logfile to compare how the http request should be looking like.

Marcel.
Find all posts by this user
12-10-2009, 11:30 AM
Post: #58
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
Hi there!

I have looked around for a Spotify solution for NMT. What I found is that if you have a Squeezebox or a Reciva based radio there is two easy method to fix this.

- Wave Input Plugin, streams in WAV format.More info on Squeezcenter streaming incl Wave Input Plugin

- DSBridge (I have this working to my Reciva radio), this streams in 320kbps MP3.DSbridge homepage

Couldnt these ways be possible to use for the NMT player?? I am not a programmer so I cant fix this myself, but maybe some other gurus here can take a look??

Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 09:24 PM
Post: #59
RE: Stream PC Audio to PCH?
I have Jamcast working with my Popcorn Hour A110. The trick for me was to set the Force MP3 option to true in the device properties in the Jamcast configuration properties and since I'm on Windows 7 I'm using the hardware capture option in the Jamcast preferences(no need to mess with the Stereo Mix setting in the Windows sound options). Now I just go to the Jamcast source in the Popcorn Hour and drill down to the Virtual Soundcard and it works.

Any idea why the one minute buffer time? Is there any way to configure this to be shorter?

Thanks

(10-13-2009 10:12 PM)mattsjo Wrote:  Hi,

I have tried jamcast (http://www.sdstechnologies.com) and it works...

Just install jamcast and create a html page with this link:
Code:
<a href="http://YOUR_JAMCAST_PC_IP:58641/Media/audio+mpeg/CaptureStream" aod>MP3</a>
The PCH will buffer the stream for about a minute (and the sound will therefore be a minute behind the PC) but when playing via Spotify this is not a big problem and the audio still streams while the PC sound card is muted.

Jamcast supports LPCM and WAV streams as well but the PCH don't like those and that's probably why the UPnp/DLNA way of streaming from jamcast doesn't work.

Good luck!

/Mattias
Find all posts by this user
12-27-2009, 06:27 PM (This post was last modified: 12-27-2009 06:33 PM by Paardekam.nl.)
Post: #60
Easy streaming from Windows 7 to PCH
Hi all, just joined the NMT-forum. I thought this might interest other users as well. Using Windows 7 (which comes with Windows Media Player 12) you have the ability to stream audio to other DLNA-supporting devices in the network.

I just successfully streamed some audio-tracks from my Windows 7 PC directly to my PCH A-110 without using any other third-party software. In both Explorer and Media Player is a new option in the context menu which is shown when you rightclick a mediafile: "Play to...". In the submenu a list of all DLNA-supporting devices in the network is shown.

Maybe this helps other people as well streaming audio to their NMT as well. Below two screendumps, unfortunately for some of the users I use the Dutch version of Windows 7, but I guess you'll get the picture.

[Image: pch_example_playto.png]


[Image: pch_example_stream.png]


Kind regards,

Robin Paardekam
The Netherlands
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Audio] No sound with Main AAC Profile frayaka 2 1,012 01-12-2014 11:06 PM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [AUDIO] No sound after passing trough Receiver - A-110 vitoraugusto 4 1,574 10-01-2013 04:52 PM
Last Post: vitoraugusto
  AC3 audio not detected by A-100? sarumbear 1 1,330 08-03-2013 12:55 AM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [Audio] [A110] Why is this audio "scratchy" sounding? hcour 0 1,234 05-20-2013 02:51 AM
Last Post: hcour
  [AUDIO] Noise at beginning of file play Iggy 0 1,332 01-23-2013 06:53 PM
Last Post: Iggy
  [audio] mopidy jkoks 7 4,658 12-16-2012 05:12 PM
Last Post: dizz-e
  [AUDIO] DLNA possibilities Djiest 1 1,516 12-02-2012 08:52 AM
Last Post: Djiest
  Should the A110 be able to play ts files with DTS HD MA audio? lchiu7 7 4,706 10-22-2012 10:59 PM
Last Post: lchiu7
  [Audio] Any way to adjust audio-video sync in A-100? rshri 4 1,883 10-22-2012 04:48 AM
Last Post: rshri
  [AUDIO] How to reduce DTS dynamic range ninodiz 0 1,415 10-19-2012 06:52 AM
Last Post: ninodiz

Forum Jump: