Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
12-14-2008, 09:41 PM
Post: #1
Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
I have been ripping individual TV episodes on OS X using Handbrake 0.9.3

For the Audio Tracks, I'm selecting:

English (AC3) (5.1 ch) and an Audio Codec of AC3 Passthru

When I attempt to play the video on an A-110, the video plays fine, however, there is no audio.

If I press the info button while the video is playing, there no information under Audio.

I have been able to listen to the audio track on these files by using Plex on my Mac Mini (in 5.1).

I have the A-110 set for 5.1 and digital AC3.

Thanks for any help.
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2008, 09:52 PM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2008 09:53 PM by spawn.)
Post: #2
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
Very simple

The official mp4 standards does not include AC3 as an intended audio stream in the mp4 container. You are creating a non standard file when you include 5.1 AC3 in an mp4 container. The PCH unlike your computer are designed according to official standards which for the mp4 container are:

  1. Video: MPEG-4 Part 10 (or H.264, also known as MPEG-4 AVC), MPEG-4 Part 2, MPEG-2, and MPEG-1.
  2. Audio: AAC (also known as MPEG-2 Part 7), Apple Lossless, MP3 (also known as MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3), MPEG-4 Part 3, MP2 (also known as MPEG-1 Audio Layer 2), MPEG-1 Audio Layer 1.



Use .mkv as container instead

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2008, 10:00 PM
Post: #3
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
Thanks, I'll make the change in my ripping. User ignorance here.

Anyway to easily convert from an MP4 container to MKV one?

Thanks for the help
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2008, 10:15 PM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2008 10:17 PM by spawn.)
Post: #4
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
Yes - its very easy and very quick to remux an .mp4 into .mkv using MKVmerge - no quality loss and no big time consumption because no conversion are being done.
Just a matter of repackaging from one container to another.

http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtool...loads.html

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2008, 10:19 PM
Post: #5
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
Thank you very much!
Saved from my own stupidity Smile
I'm liking the PPH more and more

Thank you
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2008, 10:33 PM
Post: #6
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
You're welcome - not stupid at all macrho - creating videos these days with all the different standards around are a rather complexed affair, and can so easily go wrong some where. Smile

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
10-04-2009, 01:16 PM
Post: #7
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
(12-14-2008 10:33 PM)spawn Wrote:  You're welcome - not stupid at all macrho - creating videos these days with all the different standards around are a rather complexed affair, and can so easily go wrong some where. Smile



Hi,

I am a novice. the audio is not playing for my mp4 file too. i checked all the options in the setup then tried to find the mediainfo abt the mp4 file and here it goes.

Video #0 : MPEG-4 Visual at 525 Kbps
Aspect : 320 x 240 (1.333) at 23.976 fps

Audio #0 : MPEG Audio at 64.0 Kbps
Infos : 2 channels, 24.0 KHz

any ideas as to why it is not working. am not sure if i followed the right steps to get the audio information from mediainfo
Find all posts by this user
10-04-2009, 01:41 PM
Post: #8
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
Hi haripi2

The problem with your file is propably that the audio has a sample rate of 24khz, and the HDMI specifications does not allow transport of audio with sample rates below 32khz

I recommend recoding the audio part - doesnt take more than a few seconds

Use xvid4psp - download here --> http://www.videohelp.com/tools/XviD4PSP

Install and open xvid4psp, then open the file in xvid4psp
Under settings select the following
format: mp4
video: copy
audio: AAC-LC ABR 96k

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
10-04-2009, 02:08 PM
Post: #9
RE: Handbrake: MP4 - AC3 Passthru = No Audio
thanks spawn. i tried to remux this within a mkv container.. now audio works but no video...

General : C:\Users\haripi2\Downloads\Kandhasamy.2009.Tamil.Lotus.DVDRip.mp4.IPOD.MeN\kandy​2.mkv
Format : Matroska at 611 Kbps
Length : 810 MiB for 3h 5mn 23s 765ms

Video #0 : MPEG-4 Visual
Aspect : 320 x 240 (1.333) at 23.976 fps

Audio #0 : AAC
Infos : 2 channels, 48.0 KHz

i m going to try to recode the audio and see
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Audio] No sound with Main AAC Profile frayaka 2 1,072 01-12-2014 11:06 PM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [AUDIO] No sound after passing trough Receiver - A-110 vitoraugusto 4 1,606 10-01-2013 04:52 PM
Last Post: vitoraugusto
  AC3 audio not detected by A-100? sarumbear 1 1,353 08-03-2013 12:55 AM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [Audio] [A110] Why is this audio "scratchy" sounding? hcour 0 1,251 05-20-2013 02:51 AM
Last Post: hcour
  [AUDIO] Noise at beginning of file play Iggy 0 1,352 01-23-2013 06:53 PM
Last Post: Iggy
  [audio] mopidy jkoks 7 4,683 12-16-2012 05:12 PM
Last Post: dizz-e
  [AUDIO] DLNA possibilities Djiest 1 1,531 12-02-2012 08:52 AM
Last Post: Djiest
  Should the A110 be able to play ts files with DTS HD MA audio? lchiu7 7 4,743 10-22-2012 10:59 PM
Last Post: lchiu7
  [Audio] Any way to adjust audio-video sync in A-100? rshri 4 1,904 10-22-2012 04:48 AM
Last Post: rshri
  [AUDIO] How to reduce DTS dynamic range ninodiz 0 1,442 10-19-2012 06:52 AM
Last Post: ninodiz

Forum Jump: