Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Popcorn not starting up anymore
02-09-2009, 11:30 AM
Post: #1
Popcorn not starting up anymore
So I was watching this movie, and all of a sudden it starts lagging and the screen becomes all blurry so I press stop and get to the menu which is also all blurry. Simply putting it into standby mode and starting it again doesn't help so I restart it completely by pulling out the power chord and putting it back in, but now for some reason the popcorn hour won't start, the yellow light lights up but there's no signal going to the TV and if I try putting it in standby mode nothing happens (The red light should light up). I've also tried pressing the reset button without result.

Has anyone had a similar problem? Any input would be much appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
02-09-2009, 11:33 AM (This post was last modified: 02-09-2009 11:43 AM by foggy.)
Post: #2
RE: Popcorn not starting up anymore
Hi there!
You are probably experiencing the bug in the Auto-setting of the video output.
Go to settings and set a fixed video output resolution.

..and if you in this case can't see any picture.. you use the remote to set output mode... Hit TV-mode followed by 0 or any mode suitable for you:

1. Press (and release) the button labeled 'TV Mode'
2. Wait 2 seconds
3. Press the number corresponding to your desired mode:
* '0' = Auto TV mode (Please use it only for FAILSAFE)
* '1' = Composite NTSC 480i
* '2' = Composite PAL 576i
* '3' = reserved
* '4' = Component 720p60
* '5' = Component 1080i60
* '6' = Component 1080p60
* '7' = HDMI 720p60
* '8' = HDMI 1080i60
* '9' = HDMI 1080p60
* 'Caps/Num' = Toggles between 50/60 Hz refresh rate. Can be used in browser.

Hope it helps.

Cheers

  • PCH-A110
  • WD Green Power 750Gb internal HDD
  • Wired LAN
  • HDMI video out
  • Optical audio out
  • Samsung LED LCD LE40A796[size=xx-small]

Find all posts by this user
02-09-2009, 11:34 AM
Post: #3
RE: Popcorn not starting up anymore
Yes, yesterday I had the same. Try pressing "TV-Mode" and then "0" after 2 seconds. Remember the PCH needs about 1 or 2 full minutes to boot before that combination will work. Good luck and let me know what is going on.

2 x NMT PCH C-200
2 x NMT PCH A-110 (80GB internal HDD) with 3 x Samsung Spinpoint HD103UJ 1TB over USB (Sharkoon Quickports DUO & PRO)
Find all posts by this user
02-09-2009, 11:43 AM (This post was last modified: 02-09-2009 11:56 AM by RezQ.)
Post: #4
RE: Popcorn not starting up anymore
@foggy: I think I've already got it fixed, and if i don't there's not much I can do about it as there's no picture. I also don't think the popcorn is responding to my remote since it won't even go into standby mode when I press the power button.

@McOrmick: Problem is I don't have my original popcorn remote, I'm using a universal one and haven't programmed the "TV-Mode" button to it. Any solutions?

Ok, guess I'll have to get my hands on my original remote, thanks for the help.
Find all posts by this user
02-09-2009, 11:48 AM (This post was last modified: 02-09-2009 11:50 AM by foggy.)
Post: #5
RE: Popcorn not starting up anymore
(02-09-2009 11:43 AM)RezQ Wrote:  @foggy: I think I've already got it fixed, and if i don't there's not much I can do about it as there's no picture. I also don't think the popcorn is responding to my remote since it won't even go into standby mode when I press the power button.

@McOrmick: Problem is I don't have my original popcorn remote, I'm using a universal one and haven't programmed the "TV-Mode" button to it. Any solutions?

Yeh well I updated my post Wink

Yes - you can try using another video output cable just to get the problem solved - then switch back to HDMI. Try Composite, S-video or Component. HDMI is a bit tricky since it has issues with handshakes sometimes. When handshake fails there seems to be issues with PCH not responding to remote control commands... at least that's my experience.

  • PCH-A110
  • WD Green Power 750Gb internal HDD
  • Wired LAN
  • HDMI video out
  • Optical audio out
  • Samsung LED LCD LE40A796[size=xx-small]

Find all posts by this user
02-09-2009, 12:05 PM (This post was last modified: 02-09-2009 06:53 PM by RezQ.)
Post: #6
RE: Popcorn not starting up anymore
(02-09-2009 11:48 AM)foggy Wrote:  Yeh well I updated my post Wink

Yes - you can try using another video output cable just to get the problem solved - then switch back to HDMI. Try Composite, S-video or Component. HDMI is a bit tricky since it has issues with handshakes sometimes. When handshake fails there seems to be issues with PCH not responding to remote control commands... at least that's my experience.

Ok thanks, I'll try that.

EDIT: Tried it and didn't work, the popcorn just doesn't want to boot. Does anybody know what would happen if I took out the battery and put it back in? Could it help? Would it damage the popcorn?
Find all posts by this user
02-09-2009, 08:24 PM
Post: #7
RE: Popcorn not starting up anymore
I have the exact same issue.

My PCH will not start up anymore!
I've read some threads that it may be the video-configuration, so I took connected the PCH to a Full HD TV and put the screensettings to 1080p @ 23,97 MHz. After a couple of minutes the screen went black again and I wasn't able to restart it.

When I read the forum, this happens a lot..

What should I do?

Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Internal HDD not detected anymore plonker 8 14,963 10-04-2009 06:58 PM
Last Post: hxall
  Popcorn & Dreambox w00tie 2 7,417 09-04-2009 01:29 PM
Last Post: Exlo
  No HDMI out with Popcorn Hour A-110 teevee 18 24,163 09-03-2009 03:33 PM
Last Post: Yogesh
  [A110] Loving the Popcorn m4DD0gg 12 6,395 08-23-2009 04:30 AM
Last Post: luckyy
  Introducing: Popcorn Poweroff Module (PPM) => Finished boards! (page 3) PcPom 75 41,878 08-21-2009 06:34 PM
Last Post: fanni
User Movies don't play anymore adrenalinda 9 4,752 08-08-2009 10:25 AM
Last Post: quemaculo
  [A110] Dead Popcorn : MAC address : 00.00.00.00.00 and no network LED light. denony 19 13,774 08-05-2009 04:09 AM
Last Post: dajacques
  Lost FTP connection to Popcorn Hour seederekrun 13 9,554 07-25-2009 07:00 PM
Last Post: seederekrun
  See my popcorn our on network but can't xfer Phil214 12 4,819 07-22-2009 05:19 PM
Last Post: chris57
  Popcorn hangs on "Loading" FLX 10 5,290 07-22-2009 12:35 AM
Last Post: BanditRider

Forum Jump: