Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
[MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
02-16-2009, 10:21 PM
Post: #1
[MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
hi

i recently purchased an HDHomeRun box and have it connected to an antenna to pull off-air channels...as a test, i recorded an hour of CBS (1080i) and the resultant video is an mpg file...unfortunately when i try to play it on the popcorn hour, i am unable to...nothing happens - the screen just goes blank...my setup is windows xp computer, streaming to popcorn hour through powerline internet (i have used this system to play hd and blu-ray rips and they stream perfectly)...

has anyone else experienced this? do i need to make a change to the file in some way to make it compatible? i was hoping that this would be a great solution for me to ditch cable, but if i have to process the videos created, then that is not a great solution either....

can someone pls help?

thanks!
Find all posts by this user
02-17-2009, 12:15 AM
Post: #2
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
(02-16-2009 10:21 PM)10dulkar Wrote:  hi

i recently purchased an HDHomeRun box and have it connected to an antenna to pull off-air channels...as a test, i recorded an hour of CBS (1080i) and the resultant video is an mpg file...unfortunately when i try to play it on the popcorn hour, i am unable to...nothing happens - the screen just goes blank...my setup is windows xp computer, streaming to popcorn hour through powerline internet (i have used this system to play hd and blu-ray rips and they stream perfectly)...

has anyone else experienced this? do i need to make a change to the file in some way to make it compatible? i was hoping that this would be a great solution for me to ditch cable, but if i have to process the videos created, then that is not a great solution either....

can someone pls help?

thanks!

I have the same issue.

Which software are you using to record the shows? Are you using TotalMedia (the software that comes with the HDHomeRun)? I wouldn't be surprised if that is the issue. I am playing around with MythTV see if those recordings do play.

Cheers.
Find all posts by this user
02-17-2009, 12:55 AM
Post: #3
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
yes - using totalmedia...
Find all posts by this user
02-17-2009, 07:55 AM
Post: #4
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
(02-17-2009 12:55 AM)10dulkar Wrote:  yes - using totalmedia...

Yeah, as I thought ...

I tried recording with MythTV just now and those recordings play without any issue on the PCH so time to ditch totalmedia I'd say.

Cheers.
Find all posts by this user
02-17-2009, 04:33 PM
Post: #5
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
well - i have found a temp solution...here is what i need to do: rename the file from movie.mpg to movie.ts and then remux it back to a .ts file again...the new file is almost the same size as the old and plays perfectly...

does mythtv work with windows? i am hoping to not spend any more money here than i already have...

thanks!
Find all posts by this user
02-19-2009, 02:21 PM
Post: #6
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
I have the same problem. I have a situation where I have three pc's on my network that all have Totalmedia. The mpg files on one pc will play fine on the A110. However, mpg files recorded on the other two pc's will not play on my Popcorn player. I get a message that the file is buffering but it will not play?? Makes no sense to me. All of the recordings on all three pc's play fine in Windows Media Player. I even tried loading a mpg recording from Totalmedia onto a usb memory stick and the A110 still would not play the file ??
Find all posts by this user
02-19-2009, 02:29 PM
Post: #7
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
Poor muxing and/or non compliant mpeg streams from Totalmedia causing this - problem can be a general problem of Totalmedia if specific totalmedia filters are used to create the streams, or can be related to other filters installed on the PC which may be used by Totalmedia or interfere in some way. One PC with totalmedia may create good files - another installation on a different pc may create bad files depending on the configuration of this pc.

An mpeg file is not just an mpeg file - and playback in WMP on the computer which created the mpeg are no gurarantee of the compliancy of the mpeg.

If you can provide a small clip of approx 30sec length - I can analyze it and give more accurate feedback of the problem

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user says Thank You to spawn for this post
03-08-2009, 02:59 AM
Post: #8
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
(02-17-2009 07:55 AM)InfectiouSoul Wrote:  Yeah, as I thought ...

I tried recording with MythTV just now and those recordings play without any issue on the PCH so time to ditch totalmedia I'd say.

Cheers.

Glad to see that you managed to get it to play. How did you do it? Did you use UPnP or play it off of a share?

I can't get UPnP to play.
Find all posts by this user
03-08-2009, 06:38 AM
Post: #9
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
(03-08-2009 02:59 AM)ctrown Wrote:  Glad to see that you managed to get it to play. How did you do it? Did you use UPnP or play it off of a share?

I can't get UPnP to play.

off a share yes, the MythTV Upnp server does not work. This is a generally acknowledged issue on these forums but seems to be ignored by the PCH guys, pitty really.
Find all posts by this user
03-09-2009, 04:39 PM
Post: #10
RE: [MPG] unable to play mpg generated by hdhomerun tuner
(03-08-2009 06:38 AM)InfectiouSoul Wrote:  off a share yes, the MythTV Upnp server does not work. This is a generally acknowledged issue on these forums but seems to be ignored by the PCH guys, pitty really.

Ugh...

Has fault been properly determined? Do we know that the problem is MythTV or PCH or both?

Chris...
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question AVI - A100 Can't play this type of file frenger 0 796 09-10-2013 06:51 AM
Last Post: frenger
  A110 Can't Play Video Files Through Jukebox Overlay gamenlegend 1 880 08-22-2013 12:52 PM
Last Post: gamenlegend
  PCH A110 - cant play youtube video cimentocola 3 2,014 06-23-2013 01:44 PM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  VIDEO_TS folders wont play iamloco724@aol.com 8 2,567 02-12-2013 10:10 PM
Last Post: swearm
  video with remux AAC to AC3: file played once, then refuses to play any other file cpbox 0 1,880 12-13-2012 10:00 AM
Last Post: cpbox
  Won't play any files? sunken 4 1,523 09-15-2012 03:54 PM
Last Post: sunken
  [MKV] Why does this file not play? modulation 1 4,225 08-27-2012 11:27 PM
Last Post: Archon
  UPDATE: ISO No Longer Play Sig32 1 1,333 08-18-2012 02:24 PM
Last Post: Sig32
  Recent MKV files don't play vtimmerm 15 14,430 08-12-2012 02:20 PM
Last Post: Nazu84
Video [DVD] Can't play ISO or VIDEO_TS skyke 1 1,940 07-08-2012 09:47 PM
Last Post: fvw75

Forum Jump: