Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
[A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
02-26-2009, 07:44 PM
Post: #1
[A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
Hi,

Playback of the dvd.iso(same with video_ts) doesn't work for me when my pch is connected to Pioneer Elite VSX-94TXH(amp), which is connected to Sony 60A2000 tv(hdmi all the way). The screen just goes black and the only way to recover is by turning off/on the pch.
But when pch connected directly to my other tv(hdmi-dvi), everything is fine.
firmware: 01-17-090125-15-POP-403
The same behavior was seen with previous firmware, I was just hoping that the new one will resolve it for me.
Could anybody advise me on what should be tried?

Regards
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 07:47 PM
Post: #2
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
Thx for creating a separate thread sergeant

Seems like somehow the PCH and the Pioneer amp dont handshake properly with eachother.

What video output settings are selected on the PCH ??

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 07:51 PM
Post: #3
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
i think more interessting would be the setup of the pioneer receiver Smile, an avr could be there really tricky, also onkyo drives me crazy the first time i set it up Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 07:54 PM
Post: #4
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
Yes - that could be something also - could be a question of weather the AVR is set to pass through HDMI or scale incoming signals using its build in scaler.

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 07:59 PM
Post: #5
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
indeed that was the problem i had with my onkyo Smile now after setting it up correct everything works as it should, but anyway i think both infos would be interessting, so maybe post PCH settings, AVR Settings, specially on both the Video section.

Regards,
Werner
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 09:17 PM
Post: #6
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
Thank you guys for the desire to help!

I can't find any setting related to upscaling in avr, I assume it upscales only on analog inputs, but on hdmi avr just passes it through, although i could be wrong.
I just tried to connect pch directly to Sony 60A2000 - still doesn't work.
PCH settings:
Video Output: AUTO
Framerate Synch: off
Video Zoom: actual size
TV Type: 16:9

The video output on pch set to auto, if I try to set it to 1080p60Hz - I'm getting the black screen on any of my files.
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 09:30 PM
Post: #7
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
ok first thing AUTO is really bad and most of the time this causes such issues.

about the you get an blackscreen at 1080p60 are you sure that you use HDMI 1080p60 and not Component 1080p60

(02-26-2009 09:17 PM)sergeant72 Wrote:  Thank you guys for the desire to help!

I can't find any setting related to upscaling in avr, I assume it upscales only on analog inputs, but on hdmi avr just passes it through, although i could be wrong.
I just tried to connect pch directly to Sony 60A2000 - still doesn't work.
PCH settings:
Video Output: AUTO
Framerate Synch: off
Video Zoom: actual size
TV Type: 16:9

The video output on pch set to auto, if I try to set it to 1080p60Hz - I'm getting the black screen on any of my files.
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 09:44 PM
Post: #8
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
(02-26-2009 09:30 PM)werner Wrote:  ok first thing AUTO is really bad and most of the time this causes such issues.

about the you get an blackscreen at 1080p60 are you sure that you use HDMI 1080p60 and not Component 1080p60

Yes, it is hdmi 1080p60Hz.
Strange thing, when I switched to hdmi 1080p60Hz, I get the picture (menu), but when I try to playback the file, the screen goes black.
I guess at this point it would be great to know if there any users with the same tv (Sony 60A2000).
On the other hand, there is no issues with ps3 in the same setup with 1080p selected as the output.
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 09:47 PM
Post: #9
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
we had most of the time issues on playback with blackscreen if the user setup Componet 1080p60 which also will output the Menu over HDMI, but will black out when you start an movie.
So please double check that, if you are realy on 1080p60 HDMI then try 720p60 hdmi so maybe your TV cant take 1080p60?
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 10:38 PM
Post: #10
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
(02-26-2009 09:47 PM)werner Wrote:  we had most of the time issues on playback with blackscreen if the user setup Componet 1080p60 which also will output the Menu over HDMI, but will black out when you start an movie.
So please double check that, if you are realy on 1080p60 HDMI then try 720p60 hdmi so maybe your TV cant take 1080p60?

Thanks Werner.
Just doublechecked - no picture. But here is the funny/confusing/... part - if I choose Component 1080p60Hz or Component 720p60Hz - I get a picture on tv trhough hdmi in menu and during the playback of my files, but no sound. And still black screen on iso.
I really hope that you don't think that I'm a stupid user who doesn't know what he is selecting in settings.
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 10:54 PM
Post: #11
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
nono i dont think you are stupid i just try to test things where i know it happens sometimes, for me personaly i hate our videosetup because the list is to long, so such mistakes can happen easy, so nothing that you have to feel dumb.

ok can you try HDMI 720p60? and disable Autoframerate also because this could also be an problem if it takes to long for your Receiver to get an signal
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 11:14 PM
Post: #12
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
(02-26-2009 10:54 PM)werner Wrote:  nono i dont think you are stupid i just try to test things where i know it happens sometimes, for me personaly i hate our videosetup because the list is to long, so such mistakes can happen easy, so nothing that you have to feel dumb.

ok can you try HDMI 720p60? and disable Autoframerate also because this could also be an problem if it takes to long for your Receiver to get an signal

Tried HDMI 720p60 with Autoframerate disabled - screen goes black just after I'm trying to playback regular file.
I have a feeling it's a tv to blame - I can't believe that there is a problem with pch settings and I'm the only one experiencing it.
Btw, is there a way somehow to find out what is used as video output when auto is selected?
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 11:18 PM
Post: #13
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
Could you try HDMI 1080i60 ?

Living room: C200/A200/A100 HDMI to Pioneer KURO KRP-500A plasma / Denon AVR 3808 / KEF 5005.2 / B&W DM685
Kids room: C200/A110 HDMI to Panasonic 42PZ85, Optical to Logitech Z5500.


PLEASE READ THE WIKI
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 11:28 PM
Post: #14
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
but you said it worked if you connect direct to the TV so without the AVR correct? so it can be only an issue on the AVR, the question is will an change there help or is an option avaible to change something (like an service menu or hidden menu)

Regards,
Werner
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2009, 11:35 PM
Post: #15
RE: [A-110] Black screen on dvd.iso playback
(02-26-2009 11:18 PM)spawn Wrote:  Could you try HDMI 1080i60 ?

Tried that - same black screen on attempt to playback the file.

It seems that the only way for me to get proper playback of everything (except iso) with the sound on that tv (with avr in the middle or without) if I choose AUTO as a Video Output.
Also I know for sure that tv is 1080p.
Find all posts by this user


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Car [A-110] REGRESSION! MythTV Upnp Server playback broken!! cpt_mocha 7 8,895 10-12-2009 04:05 AM
Last Post: tivo1
  Documenting wierd green screen. jetmox 8 6,242 09-27-2009 12:23 PM
Last Post: firebelly
  Screen flashes after pressing standby RobertdeHoop 6 4,906 09-14-2009 01:39 AM
Last Post: pete1977
  [A-110] ASF streaming blanks out screen flabbergast 2 2,969 07-28-2009 07:40 PM
Last Post: flabbergast
Sad [A110] No Video - Black Screen (Mode not supported !) [RESOLVED THANKS RITONGER] rafal83 25 14,834 07-26-2009 03:14 PM
Last Post: Tr0llk1ng
  [A-110] Playback Freeze After Pause Nostromos 9 4,476 07-22-2009 07:16 PM
Last Post: rgn2000
  jumpy iso playback from windows 7 scumfrog 9 3,362 07-21-2009 06:40 PM
Last Post: scumfrog
  DVD Playback problem from NAS wanl4756 7 2,854 07-14-2009 09:14 PM
Last Post: dc11ab
  no "fit to screen" at once when playing HD files (720 or 1080) jo jacobs 1 1,244 07-07-2009 12:33 PM
Last Post: jo jacobs
  trouble with playback now...after firmware update Switchblade 0 1,072 07-05-2009 02:00 AM
Last Post: Switchblade

Forum Jump: