Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Problem Streaming over Gb Network
09-19-2009, 03:22 PM
Post: #31
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
I tried with DDwrt to set the popcorn hours switch interface in to 100 full and disable autonegotiate , but the switch LED still glows green indicating GigE?

I guess the popcorn hour is set to autonegotiate and it must be forcing GigE. Lets hope for a firmware fix really soon that will let us force the popcorn to 100 full.






(09-19-2009 02:13 PM)Govnah Wrote:  I have been a customer of PH sice the A-100 and I finld this issue unacceptable as I would expect the C-200 to stream 720p and 1080p files as well as the A-100 and A-110 which I have, 2 A-110s and one A-100 that work just fine. If this issue was well known I would have waited as I don't need/want this frustration. Last night I attached the C-200 to a 100Mb switch and attached that to my Gb switch and still have issues...Arrrggggggg. I am beginning to think this is more of a hardware issue rather than a software/firmware issue. I have never had the need to post as the PHs just worked and worked well until the C-200! I am coming to the conclusion that Gb well never work and we will have to strap the C-200 to 100/Full.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 03:29 PM
Post: #32
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
Seemed to had same issues (drops, audio stops, video starts to lag).
Fixed it by setting Video output to AUTO instead of 24p.
At least a file that was being totally ruined in 24p mode , plays back without skip or drops in AUTO hdmi mode. Possibly unrelated, but definitely fixed things for me.
Also one of the reasons I got C200 was because of Gbit, don't tell your customers who just dropped $300 on a unit WITH gigabit that a "solution" to the problem is "using 100mbit switch".
My network is strictly gbit and there is not even a single 100mbit switch involved, whlie I can downgrade a port to 100 on my main managed switch, I'd rather not do that. Perhaps if PCH wants to refund the price difference to those who are forced to use it in 100mbit mode, that should teach them to release non-working hardware.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 05:41 PM (This post was last modified: 09-19-2009 05:45 PM by Specter.)
Post: #33
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 02:08 PM)T800 Wrote:  What was the 360 and PS3 getting wrong?
I can't remember them not doing as advertised upon release.

I installed a gigabit network ready for my C-200 weeks ago. I'm fine things not being ready as an early adopter but there's no reason why this wasn't mentioned when everyone was talking about setting up their own gigabit networks on the forums in anticipation of the C-200.

The PS3 did have Bluray out the door but they had a number of things wrong, heres the complete firmware history of things the had to get right over the years http://www.xtremeps3.com/firmware-history/. Of course Early adopters got the backwards compatability bonus but they got the bugs that came along with it also.Cool

Xbox have their RROD that they still cannot get right. Even after several hardware remodels on internal components. So nothing is really perfect out the door.Big Grin

This is a major upset though because something such as gigabit should have been fixed but from what i remembered streaming Bluray structures over ethernet was never a planed feature, it came along as an added bonus when the licence was brought. The device was intended for local BD playback Angle. Sucks about the 720p mand 1080p files not playing smoothe though, hope it gets fixed before my unit arrives Big Grin

PCH A-200 16GB USB -> HDMI -> Samsung LN46A650 | A200 -> Toslink -> Logitech Z-5500 (Harmony 700)
PCH C-200 8GB USB -> HDMI -> Sharp LC46D64U (Harmony 550)
Eversion Whisper eskin + WHS V1 (25TB Q6600/4GB RAM ) -> Mediasonic HR82-SU3S2 (Backup)
D-Link DNS 323 for sale
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 06:34 PM
Post: #34
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 03:29 PM)hamasaki Wrote:  . Perhaps if PCH wants to refund the price difference to those who are forced to use it in 100mbit mode, that should teach them to release non-working hardware.

And what do you think is the purchase price difference between a 100Mb or a 1Gb Realtek network controler chip be?.... quote in US dollar cents please..


PCH-A100/A210/C200/A400 500GB EXT3 HDD<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to the A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.


The inability to setup and configure the NMT should not be disguised as a defect of the box...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:26 PM
Post: #35
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 06:34 PM)Willem53 Wrote:  And what do you think is the purchase price difference between a 100Mb or a 1Gb Realtek network controler chip be?.... quote in US dollar cents please..

Not very much but thats not the point really is it? We've all expressed our concerns over the issue and i have full confidence the software team will have the patch ready soon and a fix in due course.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:34 PM
Post: #36
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
Quote:And what do you think is the purchase price difference between a 100Mb or a 1Gb Realtek network controler chip be?.... quote in US dollar cents please..
$299, as I wouldn't be buying the unit if it still had the same pathetic "100mbit" as A100/110 which actually never copied at anything > 3meg/second.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:39 PM (This post was last modified: 09-19-2009 07:42 PM by Willem53.)
Post: #37
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 07:34 PM)hamasaki Wrote:  $299, as I wouldn't be buying the unit if it still had the same pathetic "100mbit" as A100/110 which actually never copied at anything > 3meg/second.

The procedure here is:

Read question
And what do you think is the purchase price difference between a 100Mb or a 1Gb Realtek network controler chip be?.... quote in US dollar cents please..
Think

answer question

Deviating of that path will result in post like you just did
$299, as I wouldn't be buying the unit if it still had the same pathetic "100mbit" as A100/110 which actually never copied at anything > 3meg/second.

with regard to the > 3Mbps I get way more than that on the C200....... but that could of course because I don't make the same choises and decisions you do.


PCH-A100/A210/C200/A400 500GB EXT3 HDD<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to the A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.


The inability to setup and configure the NMT should not be disguised as a defect of the box...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:41 PM
Post: #38
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
http://web.archive.org/web/2006081105152...otice.html
and
http://web.archive.org/web/2006090221185...lement.pdf

Here is what happened to the last company who sold people hardware which was advertised to do thing XYZ and did not do it. For those too lazy to read the links, Toshiba sold a couple series of laptops which were advertised to run at 1.1GHz, when in reality, during normal use, they would overheat and clockdown to somewhere in the neighborhood of 600Mhz, basically leaving customers paying twice the price for crap performance. There was a class action suit, it succeeded, and Toshiba was forced to pay people back for their screwup.

tl;dr version: Don't piss off your customers, even if you're just a forum moderator who isn't getting paid by Syabas.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:43 PM
Post: #39
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
Reading and comprehension lmao, those were the days Big Grin

PCH A-200 16GB USB -> HDMI -> Samsung LN46A650 | A200 -> Toslink -> Logitech Z-5500 (Harmony 700)
PCH C-200 8GB USB -> HDMI -> Sharp LC46D64U (Harmony 550)
Eversion Whisper eskin + WHS V1 (25TB Q6600/4GB RAM ) -> Mediasonic HR82-SU3S2 (Backup)
D-Link DNS 323 for sale
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:46 PM (This post was last modified: 09-19-2009 07:47 PM by hamasaki.)
Post: #40
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
Quote:The procedure here is:

For me as a customer, your question is irrelevant.
For you (or Syabas) as a company, my purchase decision is (relevant).
This is something you clearly do not understand.
(This is where my $299 answer came from).
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:46 PM (This post was last modified: 09-19-2009 07:49 PM by Willem53.)
Post: #41
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 07:41 PM)hamasaki Wrote:  http://web.archive.org/web/2006081105152...otice.html
and
http://web.archive.org/web/2006090221185...lement.pdf

Here is what happened to the last company who sold people hardware which was advertised to do thing XYZ and did not do it. For those too lazy to read the links, Toshiba sold a couple series of laptops which were advertised to run at 1.1GHz, when in reality, during normal use, they would overheat and clockdown to somewhere in the neighborhood of 600Mhz, basically leaving customers paying twice the price for crap performance. There was a class action suit, it succeeded, and Toshiba was forced to pay people back for their screwup.

tl;dr version: Don't piss off your customers, even if you're just a forum moderator who isn't getting paid by Syabas.

man were do you live ? cloud 9?

love to see you organize a class action, got many users seeing your way yet?

Careful when you adress me..
(09-19-2009 07:46 PM)hamasaki Wrote:  For me as a customer, your question is irrelevant.
For you (or Syabas) as a company, my purchase decision is.
This is something you clearly do not understand.
(This is where my $299 answer came from).

Are you comparing relevance of posts now and saying yours are and mine are not.
Just assume that I do understand my position on this forum and you think hard on yours...


PCH-A100/A210/C200/A400 500GB EXT3 HDD<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to the A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.


The inability to setup and configure the NMT should not be disguised as a defect of the box...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:48 PM
Post: #42
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
Is this a joke? PCH really isn't working on gigabit networks?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to aaronc for this post
09-19-2009, 07:50 PM (This post was last modified: 09-19-2009 07:50 PM by Agent86.)
Post: #43
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 07:41 PM)hamasaki Wrote:  tl;dr version: Don't piss off your customers, even if you're just a forum moderator who isn't getting paid by Syabas.

Nobody is forcing you to be here; we know your views, and to a certain extent we agree (we all wish the gigabit networking was working out of the box), but we don't just sit here and complain about it. If you feel you have a legitimate complaint, contact Popcorn Hour / Syabas and discuss it with them, and then you can share some more constructive feedback (e.g. their response). No offense, but my experience is that most people who complain just do it for the sake of complaining. Not saying you doing this, but I'd probably be careful so that you don't come across like this Smile

Cheers Big Grin

PCH A100 -- 4TB Samba Server -- HP LC4276N 42" 1080p LCD
PCH C200 -- 4TB NFS Server -- Mitsubishi WD73C9 73" 1080p DLP -- Logitech Z-5500
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:51 PM (This post was last modified: 09-19-2009 07:52 PM by nuke12.)
Post: #44
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
If you don't play right, I'll throw yours and my toys, out of the sandbox.

That will fix you.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-19-2009, 07:53 PM
Post: #45
RE: Problem Streaming over Gb Network
(09-19-2009 07:51 PM)nuke12 Wrote:  If you don't play right, I'll throw yours and my toys, out of the sandbox.

That will fix you.

(don't throw his C-200 away, though...I'll take it Big Grin )

PCH A100 -- 4TB Samba Server -- HP LC4276N 42" 1080p LCD
PCH C200 -- 4TB NFS Server -- Mitsubishi WD73C9 73" 1080p DLP -- Logitech Z-5500
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Shoutcast internet radio problem videofreak64 0 93 Yesterday 02:05 PM
Last Post: videofreak64
  Crash problem with video files after firmware update Junox 1 245 04-05-2014 01:15 AM
Last Post: szkzsolt
  external HDD 4tb problem kostaspap 11 1,146 03-25-2014 04:28 PM
Last Post: kostaspap
  No Wireless Auto/Manual in Network buntux 14 724 02-26-2014 05:18 PM
Last Post: istan
  wifi wired usb to internal hdd problem andro 22 995 02-22-2014 03:44 PM
Last Post: andro
  Second disk problem jopetro 1 586 02-03-2014 04:37 PM
Last Post: BanditRider
  NMT application Fresh setup problem Macarale 0 300 01-27-2014 08:27 PM
Last Post: Macarale
Rainbow How to connect the Popcorn Hour C-200 to the network (in order to access to its HD) sillup 4 599 01-27-2014 08:14 PM
Last Post: sillup
  The problem with multiple HDD martan870 5 509 01-12-2014 10:40 PM
Last Post: martan870
  Help - problem after update c-200 firmware hugoamaro 1 465 01-05-2014 10:51 PM
Last Post: Ruben Rocha

Forum Jump: