Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
09-28-2009, 11:21 PM
Post: #1
pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
Hi ,
My new Popcorn hour A110 does not see one of my computers in my workgroup. I am getting frustrated with this one and I thought maybe one of you could help .

Here are my details.
Two computers with xp , one basic one professional . The pch sees only the basic (dont think its the xp type) . both have a user Guest activated, both defined in the same workgroup . both can see each other and brows via \\computername (took me a long time to acheve that ). both have firewall shut down .

PCH can see only one of them and play movies from him.
Obviously, as murphy's law says, it is not the computer I want to stream files from. What can I do ? Suggestions ?
10x.
Find all posts by this user
09-28-2009, 11:25 PM (This post was last modified: 09-28-2009 11:25 PM by Mental.)
Post: #2
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
Manually add the share to you A100 using the steps in this article from the WIKI:

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...hare_Setup

As said in the screenshot; leave the username/password field blank, if it doesn't work use your username/password that you're using to logon to the windows machine you're connecting to.
Windows pc visibility in workgroups has always been a pain in the ass, a problem the A110 can't solve on it's own i'm afraid Wink

Please read the A-Series or C-200 FAQ before posting, you may save time and find your answer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-28-2009, 11:47 PM
Post: #3
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
Sadly, did not work.
I will tell you another thing . My Two computers always saw each other via \\Computer_name .
Suddenly, they stopped. Meaning that one saw the other but not vice versa.
To see again my computer with all the HD content from my laptop I used an advice I found in many sites this help :
regedit -> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa change restrictanonymous value.
Now, don't what it means but it worked.
I can see now my big computer from my laptop.
The pch, somehow, cant. the pch sees only my laptop .
How do I make him see my big desktop station? (the one I made the registry change )
10x again for quick response.
Find all posts by this user
09-28-2009, 11:50 PM
Post: #4
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
What kind of error did you get?
Manually adding that share should've worked. (note however that it's case sensitive and that spaces in sharenames are generally not a great idea)

Please read the A-Series or C-200 FAQ before posting, you may save time and find your answer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-29-2009, 12:10 AM
Post: #5
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
What I did was going into media source right after adding the network share.
In media source -> share name -> i get "Unable to resolve the host name. Press [return] key to re...."

Now About the case sensitive. I shared a drive from my laptop //Asus/HD and the PCH found it automaticly. I entered the network share in the setup by clicking "edit" and I saw smb://ASUS/HD (all upper case). Now it worked fine . So I am not sure I understand the case sensative part.
Anyhow, I fixed my manually entered share name to be all lowercase(as my share name) and I still cant see my desktop computer automaticly from pch or by defining a network share . any help?
Still 10x in advance .
Find all posts by this user
09-29-2009, 12:13 AM
Post: #6
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
Try using the ip adress of the pc you're trying to access instead of the name.
so smb://192.168.0.14/sharename (where the ip is ofcourse the ip of the computer with the share on it)

Please read the A-Series or C-200 FAQ before posting, you may save time and find your answer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-29-2009, 12:21 AM
Post: #7
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
OK, a small change now in the message.
Now it sais "No content found on server. Press [return] key..."
any tips?
Find all posts by this user
09-29-2009, 09:45 AM
Post: #8
RE: pch sees only one computer from my workgroup
Yes, share a folder on your computer. If nothing is shared you won't see anything.
Also, enable the guest account.

Please read the A-Series or C-200 FAQ before posting, you may save time and find your answer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Computer not recognizing popcorn hour A-110 mdhalla413 1 1,483 05-11-2013 03:12 AM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [A-100] Can't connect via SMB to PCH's Internal Disk from computer with Windows 7 Nestor 4 2,024 11-13-2012 02:37 PM
Last Post: chris57
  Network browser does not show workgroup anymore wulp2 2 1,478 07-18-2012 08:03 AM
Last Post: wulp2
Sad A110 no longer sees my PC MisplacedDharma 0 734 11-19-2011 01:51 PM
Last Post: MisplacedDharma
  NMT/A-110 stopped finding my files on the computer bengt 2 1,427 12-14-2010 04:20 AM
Last Post: Lewdannie
  How To Get My PCH A-110 To Show Up In My Computer? McLean10 1 1,054 07-22-2010 09:46 PM
Last Post: DefBref
  FTP to Popcorn without computer anabolict 5 1,799 02-19-2010 02:05 AM
Last Post: anabolict
  Change WorkGroup...Should I see it in the new workgroup? blackcows 12 2,425 01-03-2010 09:46 PM
Last Post: nuke12
  Internal HDD not showing up in my computer LoZzA199 0 927 01-01-2010 04:17 AM
Last Post: LoZzA199
  Computer no longer recognizing PCH internal drive as a USB device junglejuz 6 2,444 10-09-2009 06:28 AM
Last Post: junglejuz

Forum Jump: