Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
C-200 Power Supply
07-20-2010, 03:53 PM (This post was last modified: 07-20-2010 03:56 PM by nuke12.)
Post: #31
RE: C-200 Power Supply
(07-20-2010 03:34 PM)gvera Wrote:  If I ever get the new one I will post Mfg and model#.

Thanks. That would be really great to know.
(07-20-2010 03:43 PM)chris57 Wrote:  I really hate them mini-din power sockets. My Synology NAS has one and I always feel that the connection is not 100%.

Well this one feels pretty solid. Takes a fair amount of force to remove the plug from the socket.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-02-2010, 07:53 PM
Post: #32
RE: C-200 Power Supply
I'm going to update this thread, before the site locks it.

Since, I now know the issue with the old power supply, I don't think a 150-160W unit is necessary. Probably a 90-100W unit would be fine and still more then what is required. If you buy from the same mfg. as I did, the cost difference is very little. The power efficiency is better though, if your are close, to the actual rated demand.

I would still like to hear from gvera or someone, that has received a new power supply. My C-200 is one of the first ones and very possible Syabas has corrected things.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-03-2010, 08:27 PM
Post: #33
RE: C-200 Power Supply
nuke12, the new power supply was just delivered in Miami at a forwarder who will sent it to Uruguay where I live.
It took 27 days since opening the problem at PCH to its delivery in Miami.

I expect to receive the PS next week or the one after at most.
I will post all the info I can on the new PS.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-03-2010, 08:44 PM (This post was last modified: 08-03-2010 08:51 PM by nuke12.)
Post: #34
RE: C-200 Power Supply
(08-03-2010 08:27 PM)gvera Wrote:  nuke12, the new power supply was just delivered in Miami at a forwarder who will sent it to Uruguay where I live.
It took 27 days since opening the problem at PCH to its delivery in Miami.

I expect to receive the PS next week or the one after at most.
I will post all the info I can on the new PS.

Hmmm, seems like a very long time? So you could be into 1.5 months for turn around but I'm like most.......I want it NOW!!!!!!!!! LOL

Thank-you! I thought perhaps, you had forgot about this thread? I really hope you get/receive a different unit, then the one in mine. It would tell me Syabas is working hard to make this a better media player.

Thanks again.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2010, 04:01 PM
Post: #35
RE: C-200 Power Supply
(08-03-2010 08:44 PM)nuke12 Wrote:  Hmmm, seems like a very long time? So you could be into 1.5 months for turn around but I'm like most.......I want it NOW!!!!!!!!! LOL

Thank-you! I thought perhaps, you had forgot about this thread? I really hope you get/receive a different unit, then the one in mine. It would tell me Syabas is working hard to make this a better media player.

Thanks again.
Yes it's a loooong time. Fortunately, I also own an A200, I've been moving it between my plasma screen and my projector (diferent rooms) this past month.
Not only PCH was slow in shipping the PS, but I think they chose the 'take it when you can' FEDEX option, shipping from CA to Miami, FL took ten days!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2010, 07:57 PM
Post: #36
RE: C-200 Power Supply
(08-04-2010 04:01 PM)gvera Wrote:  Yes it's a loooong time. Fortunately, I also own an A200, I've been moving it between my plasma screen and my projector (diferent rooms) this past month.
Not only PCH was slow in shipping the PS, but I think they chose the 'take it when you can' FEDEX option, shipping from CA to Miami, FL took ten days!

You see, there is a lot of desert between CA and FL, so they use camels. LOL

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2010, 06:33 PM (This post was last modified: 08-14-2010 06:34 PM by gvera.)
Post: #37
RE: C-200 Power Supply
Finally the new PS arrived.
It's not the same as the original, made by Maoling Technology.
This one is made by HY. I don't know who they are, maybe Hyundai?
There was no maker, model info on the outside of the new PS so I HAD to open it and the motherboard says HY PCB-HY1201-120050-05 Rev:C
Firts two photos are the old burnt PS, the last two, the new one

[Image: originaloutside.th.jpg]

[Image: originalinside.th.jpg]

[Image: newoutside.th.jpg]

[Image: newinside.th.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users say Thank You to gvera for this post
08-15-2010, 04:06 AM
Post: #38
RE: C-200 Power Supply
wtf??!! I just fell down from my chair when I saw those pictures!! I never saw in my life such a poor made SPS!! terrible Sad
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-15-2010, 04:46 AM
Post: #39
RE: C-200 Power Supply
@gvera;

Thanks for the update bud. Glad you finally received it.



@Nindza

So what do you see in the pictures that says they are poorly made?

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-15-2010, 09:51 AM
Post: #40
RE: C-200 Power Supply
Standard ODM manufacturing.
Also they have used silicone for vibration absorbtion in critical areas and support of the outpp;ut cable harness.

A110 with 1TB Seagate, PC with 4TB share
Onkyo 606, Celestion 5.1 speakers
Samsung PS58B850
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-15-2010, 10:22 AM
Post: #41
RE: C-200 Power Supply
I see nothing wrong with the PSU pictures. I wouldn't worry to much about the person claiming to see problems given there past post record.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-16-2010, 01:06 PM
Post: #42
RE: C-200 Power Supply
(08-15-2010 10:22 AM)halfelite Wrote:  I see nothing wrong with the PSU pictures. I wouldn't worry to much about the person claiming to see problems given there past post record.

Just going to say the same thing:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/search...4b313888f0

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-16-2010, 01:58 PM (This post was last modified: 08-17-2010 04:12 AM by nuke12.)
Post: #43
RE: C-200 Power Supply
I didn't either and I've looked at a lot of different PSUs over the years. I wanted to see what gave the poster such inner wisdom, as to enable him, to evaluate the quality of the unit from a picture. You can't ascertain the quality of components, nor the circuit design from the pictures.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2010, 06:11 AM
Post: #44
RE: C-200 Power Supply
(08-15-2010 04:06 AM)Nindza Wrote:  wtf??!! I just fell down from my chair when I saw those pictures!! I never saw in my life such a poor made SPS!! terrible Sad
Disclaimer: [This post is my personal opinion and reflects the way I actually feel about this situation. I still believe the PH is the best solution for decoding/streaming on the market.]

My first post about my C-200 power supply was deleted by the moderators. The truth hurts?
I own (2) C-200's (1) A-200 and (2) A-100's so its not like I'm a fly by night customer. Deleting my posts will just force me to post all over the web. If that is what you desire.. then simply delete this post.

I was appalled by the quality of the power supply which I found in my $300.00 (plus shipping) C-200 which failed after only 18 months. Failures can be expected with electronic parts and assemblies but I was not ready for what I saw while attempting to replace the C-200's power supply. Burnt capacitors and a soldering job which in my 56 years I have never seen. I would expect some degree of care especially when surface mounted components are involved. I will attach some photos so that other customers can decide for themselves.

I have replaced the stock PS with the picoPSU-150-XT + 102W Adapter Power Kit for @ $70.00. A very nice replacement. I would not consider purchasing a replacement from PH as it seems the PS was not important/priority or was done to keep costs down/maximize profit.

I have put up with flaky beta software for month after month beginning with the A-100 and had no complaints as I knew exactly what I was getting into. The engineers were working hard to perfect the performance and operation of the PH's. and generally did an outstanding job... class A stuff.. Even the main circuit boards were professional, clean, and efficient designs. So I would like to ask... Why would you put a substandard PS into this equipment?

I will not argue as to weather or not this power supply is substandard, you can believe anything you want.

WF

[img][Image: photobd.jpg]
Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/img]

[img][Image: photocap.jpg]
Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/img]

**Wingfat** (2)C-200,(1)A-200, A-100/SlingBx
OpenIndiana ZFS 56TB,NMTServer: Pioneer PRO-151
Onyko TX-NR 808 Anime Junkie
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 3 users say Thank You to wingfat for this post
12-22-2010, 06:18 AM
Post: #45
RE: C-200 Power Supply
Your pictures dont show much its an ODM psu. What to you on it looks wrong?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Replace PSU by normal atx power supply? RedHat 10 917 03-02-2014 12:38 AM
Last Post: aaronwt
Sad C200 dead? Power LED flashing (only) + changes colour Roughrider 3 950 02-13-2014 03:35 PM
Last Post: Roughrider
  a-200 power supply alternative richrach 2 482 12-23-2013 04:47 PM
Last Post: chris57
  C200 power supply alternatives? lordy 102 35,807 12-09-2013 03:34 PM
Last Post: osteospurnum
  RF Remote doesn't work after replacing power supply mgnut 7 702 11-15-2013 09:42 PM
Last Post: skilled
  A200 power supply schematics? twicefooled 1 1,007 09-09-2013 02:17 AM
Last Post: Maria
  NMT power up problem Taha 0 662 08-10-2013 05:33 AM
Last Post: Taha
  C200 won't power up - seems dead Kel 5 1,478 07-31-2013 01:16 PM
Last Post: wgstarks
  c-200 not waking up --power rea7001 1 879 07-06-2013 01:46 PM
Last Post: wgstarks
  Power Supply Repair - Dealing With Epoxy bbking67 4 1,315 05-26-2013 02:13 PM
Last Post: Willem53

Forum Jump: