Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
01-21-2011, 04:29 PM
Post: #1
DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
So, the issue that i'm running into with my popcorn hour (A200) is that any MKV file with DTS audio has artifacting where I constantly hear a "clicking noise" along with the audio playing. This clicking noise is persistent throughout the entire audio track and only happens with DTS. In regards to setup, the PCH is plugged directly into the tv, there is no receiver involved in the setup. To get around this problem I previously turned HDMI Audio Off and used 2ch audio (white/red) to get audio into the TV. However, as of 02-03-100918-21-POP-411 23 Sept 2010 firmware, HDMI Audio 'OFF' produces no audio at all, regardless of media type. Even with the most recent firmware update both issues persist. This issue occurs on multiple tv sets with different cables so the issue is not likely to be something related to the inputs themselves. Here are all the factors involved:

TV(S) - Samsung DLP; LG LCD
Popcorn Hour - A200 - Firmware:02-04-101208-21-POP-411 17 Dec 2010
Standard HDMI cable/input

Media Info: (2 examples that produce the problem; although every DTS file seems to have the same issue)

Audio Stream #1
Codec.............................................DTS
Codec (FourCC)....................................A_DTS
Audio Stream Length...............................1h 32mn 20s 100ms
Audio Stream BitRate..............................754 Kbps
Audio Stream BitRate Mode.........................CBR
Number of Audio Channels..........................6
Audio Channel's Positions.........................Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling Rate.....................................48.0 KHz
Bit Depth.........................................24 bits
Audio Stream Size.................................498 MiB (12%)
Audio Stream Title................................DTS 5.1
Audio Stream Language.............................English

Audio Stream #1
Codec.............................................DTS
Codec (FourCC)....................................A_DTS
Audio Stream Length...............................59mn 2s 998ms
Audio Stream BitRate..............................1 510 Kbps
Audio Stream BitRate Mode.........................CBR
Number of Audio Channels..........................6
Audio Channel's Positions.........................Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling Rate.....................................48.0 KHz
Bit Depth.........................................24 bits
Audio Stream Size.................................638 MiB (5%)
Audio Stream Language.............................English

A resolution to either problem (HDMI audio OFF not working or DTS issue) would be greatly appreciated. My A110 PCH plays these files flawlessly over HDMI, which is unfortunate given how old that device is. The solution of staying at a very old firmware or transcoding everything is not ideal so any ideas would be welcome.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 05:28 PM
Post: #2
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
I would do a bit of testing as the weekend is coming up.

Use both your TV's to test and also a couple of HDMI cables, the one you got with your 200 and another one but not the 100 series cable.

Make sure you set your video resolution to an actual setting and NOT Auto.

We have some test files that you can use that we all know are OK:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=45663
Try using the DTS-HD and DTS-HD MA files from there.

I can't think of any other things to suggest at the moment nor can I think of any other posts with a clicking but only on DTS. Cables/interference and video output seem to be causing a lot of problems on the forum presently.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 07:21 PM
Post: #3
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
Okay. I went ahead and grabbed all of the test audio files as well as the MKV video/audio test files to verify. Here is what I've done thus far:
- Changed video setting off of "Auto" to the appropriate setting for the TV (1080p; 60hz on both sets appears to be correct)
- replaced the HDMI cable with a new, unused cable for both TVs
- Tried again with my original test files, issue persists on both TVs
- Tried with the A200 test files that were linked and here were the results:
Audio Files
- All files were fine except for: all files included in "DTS" folder exhibited the noise (DTS HD HD, DTS HD MA)
Video Files
- Strangely, "MKV3_avatar.2009.1080p.bluray.dts-hd_dxva_ass_vobsub_utf8_subtitles_all embedded" exhibited no audio artifacts

The Audio/Video test files were used on both sets and the end result is the same. Thanks thus far for the help, additional thoughts? I'd hate to RMA the product since it doesn't seem hardware-related but who knows.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 07:27 PM
Post: #4
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
So how does a 2 speaker TV handle a 6 channel DTS signal?
Is DTS set to pass through on the C200?


PCH-A100/A210/C200/A400 500GB EXT3 HDD<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to the A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.


The inability to setup and configure the NMT should not be disguised as a defect of the box...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 07:35 PM
Post: #5
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
The A200 is configured for "Downmix" on all audio types so the unit should be downmixing that audio into a 2ch signal. I also tried the "pass through" setting for DTS for fun but the audio still has the same problem.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2011, 07:55 PM
Post: #6
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
So HDMI=on and all codec types are set to downmix.
It looks like a HDMI handshake issue to me where the continues handshake is causing the clipping sound.. maybe a cable issue or a bug.
Your setup without a receiver is very common so if it's a bug we should see many user with this issue... but then we don't at this moment..
A puzzle... as it is both on your Samsung and your LG...

Anyone else who can shine some light on this?


PCH-A100/A210/C200/A400 500GB EXT3 HDD<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to the A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.


The inability to setup and configure the NMT should not be disguised as a defect of the box...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2011, 09:33 PM
Post: #7
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
(01-21-2011 07:55 PM)Willem53 Wrote:  So HDMI=on and all codec types are set to downmix.
It looks like a HDMI handshake issue to me where the continues handshake is causing the clipping sound.. maybe a cable issue or a bug.
Your setup without a receiver is very common so if it's a bug we should see many user with this issue... but then we don't at this moment..
A puzzle... as it is both on your Samsung and your LG...

Anyone else who can shine some light on this?

I have the same issue with a receiver. I used to have an old A-100 that I replaced with the A-200. I had no real problems with the A-100, I just want to be able to use the latest firmware. I get the same audio "pop" every few seconds with most DTS audio streams in mkv files. I used the same cables on the old A-100 without problems. I'm probably going to switch back to the A-100, but that will be a pain after all of the time I spent updating YAMJ, et al.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2011, 10:22 PM
Post: #8
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
For what it's worth, after putting the unit back to factory default the issue persisted. I went ahead and RMA'd the product and received another unit and as expected, the issue has not reappeared (even with the latest updates and identical settings). I think Willem53 was on to something in regards to the HDMI handshake, perhaps the product had a slightly defective HDMI port. Nonetheless, good luck with your issue. Smile
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2011, 11:16 PM
Post: #9
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
I am experiencing this problem. I am wondering whether to rma the unit?

Any advice from the pch team appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-29-2011, 11:55 PM
Post: #10
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
I suddenly got the same issue. Everything was working fine for a long time and now the clicking noise during the soundtracks without changing anything. Downloaded the latest firmware and the issue persists.

Multiple Network Shares for PCH
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-31-2011, 08:59 PM
Post: #11
RE: DTS "clicking" + HDMI audio output setting
I think you need to post this 5 or 6 more times.

(10-30-2011 09:56 AM)benros Wrote:  I tried everything but suddenly tonight i have no sound with different type's of movies throw my Television.
I also have SPIDF/tos link to my Receiver and than i have no problems, that sounds ok.

How is possible that i have no problems longer than one year and than suddenly the sound on my TV is gone. The installation on my Popcorn is unchanged, so what can be the cause ?

The following settings on Sound/Video in control settings are:
HDMI On
DCM Downmix
AAC Downmix
WMA Pro Downmix
DTS Downmix
Dolby Digital Downmix
-DRC Off
Above are also the options after default factory settings which i did.
I have also the latest firmware and NMT software.

Linksys E3000 (DD-WRT) - Cisco SG 200-08 - Synology DS1812+ - A-400 - Yamaha RX-V671 - Panasonic TC-P55GT30
C-200 w/ MN-200 WiFi - 30" Philips.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Problem with hi res audio files videofreak64 15 1,019 04-11-2014 09:07 PM
Last Post: hiendas
  Could someone make such a firmware to popcorn A-200 (audio sync without limit) Przemas 1 572 02-28-2014 08:23 PM
Last Post: szkzsolt
  Passthrough Audio out of Sync? blackcows 3 449 01-03-2014 02:48 PM
Last Post: Bazrah
  c-200 and audio questions vadergr 5 1,826 12-13-2013 10:56 AM
Last Post: esdxx
  [Audio] [C-200] Which Audio Settings For HDMI Audio? vaughn 6 1,043 12-02-2013 01:42 PM
Last Post: jclcm
  Problem with C-200 optical output for 24bit 192 Khz flac ovidiu12 7 2,050 07-28-2013 02:15 PM
Last Post: Martien
  HDMI Audio on Both HDMI1 and HDMI2 BigYin 0 793 07-28-2013 11:05 AM
Last Post: BigYin
  [Audio] Stream flac from synology to PCH with Audio Station LuukNL 5 3,358 06-12-2013 10:49 AM
Last Post: LuukNL
  [Audio] External audio track c-200 dartis92 0 1,094 04-26-2013 06:54 PM
Last Post: dartis92
  HDMI sync drops on C200 after about 20 minutes ukchevy 1 1,134 02-11-2013 01:16 PM
Last Post: satu

Forum Jump: