Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
Control of A210 from browser.
01-28-2011, 01:14 AM
Post: #1
Control of A210 from browser.
I have an A110 and have mixed views on this device. First it does not support flac (I am not interested in transcoding)
Second issue is that I have never been able to manage the device using a web browser.

I am considering purchase of new device and one possible option is A210. An important consideration is the need to address the above points. I understand flac is now supported but what about control using browser? Is this possible with A210. Will I be able to exchange files from pc using samba, nfs or by other means and if so where are these options described soI can view before buying?
Grateful for any advice/ assistance on this.
Budgie
Find all posts by this user
01-28-2011, 02:40 PM
Post: #2
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Yes it will do all you want. cue/flac is now in beta aswell, so gapless flac or wav playback is possible via this workaround until new Sigma code is in.
In terms of flac I thought that the A110 played flac. Maybe you are just talking about a flac track in a MKV.

As far as moving files you can do the same as the A110, so you'll be familiar with it. Only change is the username for FTP, from ftpuser in a110 to nmt.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
01-29-2011, 09:31 PM
Post: #3
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
(01-28-2011 02:40 PM)chris57 Wrote:  Yes it will do all you want. cue/flac is now in beta aswell, so gapless flac or wav playback is possible via this workaround until new Sigma code is in.
In terms of flac I thought that the A110 played flac. Maybe you are just talking about a flac track in a MKV.

As far as moving files you can do the same as the A110, so you'll be familiar with it. Only change is the username for FTP, from ftpuser in a110 to nmt.
Hi and many thanks for the reply.
There is no drive in my A110 and I use it to play from Twonky media server residing on my NAS. I have therefore never had to transfer files to the A110. I did point my browser to it on one occasion but there was no response. I assume I shall still have to ftp to the A210 but was hoping for a web interface and simple file/media manager as is available on the NAS. Please correct me if I am wrong. Still a beginner here.
When I try to play a flac file I get "unsupported" message
Find all posts by this user
01-30-2011, 10:31 AM (This post was last modified: 01-30-2011 10:35 AM by chris57.)
Post: #4
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Thats Twonky that can't handle FLAC not the NMT. Use SMB or NFS shares and FLAC will play. There is no need to move your files just to update/change your method of serving them to the NMT.
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...work_Share

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
01-31-2011, 11:20 AM
Post: #5
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
(01-30-2011 10:31 AM)chris57 Wrote:  Thats Twonky that can't handle FLAC not the NMT. Use SMB or NFS shares and FLAC will play. There is no need to move your files just to update/change your method of serving them to the NMT.
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...work_Share
Hi Chris and thanks for that.

Strange because Twonky streams flac well to my Noxon and I recall reading a thread here about the A110 not playing flac directly.

I use Twonky with custom built trees because I have large classical music collection and navigation using NMT interface is too slow and does not give trees I need.

I shall continue research but until this ability to receive from Twonky has been clarified I shall delay purchase of A210.

Regards,
Budgie
Find all posts by this user
01-31-2011, 01:52 PM (This post was last modified: 01-31-2011 01:53 PM by chris57.)
Post: #6
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Well you need to see what version of Twonky your NAS is using. Some run really old versions that don't stream formats that are advertised on current version.

Why do you even need Twonky. It wont work with NMJ?

If you have a FLAC file that you want us to test on a 200 then upload it and i'll happily test it for you.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
02-01-2011, 09:27 PM
Post: #7
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
(01-31-2011 01:52 PM)chris57 Wrote:  Well you need to see what version of Twonky your NAS is using. Some run really old versions that don't stream formats that are advertised on current version.

Why do you even need Twonky. It wont work with NMJ?

If you have a FLAC file that you want us to test on a 200 then upload it and i'll happily test it for you.
Hi Chris, Many thanks for the reply. The twonky version is 6.0.30.

I have explained why I use twonky. NMJ will not facilitate required selection choices. The trees I am using are custom built and have much more capability than the Advanced trees that are fixed in Twonky and no longer changeable like they were in version 4.

There are some parameters I can fiddle with and will do so if you are confident A110 can play flac tracs without transcoding once it can see them.

Regards,
Budgie.
Find all posts by this user
02-02-2011, 07:41 AM
Post: #8
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Upload a FLAC file and I'll test on my A100 and C200. Use zippyshare or similar and provide the link.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user says Thank You to chris57 for this post
02-05-2011, 01:02 AM
Post: #9
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
(02-02-2011 07:41 AM)chris57 Wrote:  Upload a FLAC file and I'll test on my A100 and C200. Use zippyshare or similar and provide the link.

Hi Chris,
Many thanks for the kind offer but there is now no need for upload as I have successfully tested a flac file at this end. The A110 does play it if I select the flac file on the NAS using the A110 network browser to browse the domain or NFS shares. Unfortunately it presents the files it finds within a directory in an order different from what is required and which I do not recognise.

For classical music you will appreciate the order in which tracks are played is rather important. I believe my music files are all tagged correctly either as mp3 (usually for pop) or flac files for classical. Twonky serves the mp3 files in the right order and A110 displays them correctly and plays them accordingly.

For the flac files served by Twonky I can see them listed on screen in the right order by A110 but there is an exclamation mark at the beginning of each track title and they will not play.

I would prefer to sort out the exclamation mark so Twonky can be used for reasons outlined above but if this is impossible how can I get the tracks played by A110 in the right order?

Grateful if you could shine any light on this.
Regards,
Budgie
Find all posts by this user
02-05-2011, 06:44 PM
Post: #10
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
(02-05-2011 01:02 AM)Budgie Wrote:  if this is impossible how can I get the tracks played by A110 in the right order?

I name my music files with the track number at the start (01 Track1, 02 Track 2 ...) so that even a player than can only play alphabetically plays them in the right order.

Would that work for you?

Drobo FS wired 100Mb > Popcorn Hour C-200 Audio: TOSLink > Lexicon MC-12. Video: HDMI > Octava HDMI Matrix > InFocus IN80EU PJ & Samsung UE46ES8000 TV
Find all posts by this user
02-23-2011, 12:47 AM
Post: #11
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Hi Chris57,
Have you given up on me with this question?
I still do not have any answer to using Twonky on my Qnap with my NMT and why flac files will not play. They play just fine on Linn DS and Noxon!!!
I shall not be buying another NMT device until this problem has been resolved and had hoped somebody there would have the answer.
Thanks again for your suggestions.
Regards,
Budgie
Find all posts by this user
02-23-2011, 03:41 PM (This post was last modified: 02-23-2011 03:43 PM by Pain.)
Post: #12
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Check Chris's signature. He owns neither Qnap nor A110 so he's not the one to ask.
If you ask in the A110 forum someone might be able to help.
Edit: Saw that he owns a A100, but still no Qnap.

(02-23-2011 12:47 AM)Budgie Wrote:  Hi Chris57,
Have you given up on me with this question?
I still do not have any answer to using Twonky on my Qnap with my NMT and why flac files will not play. They play just fine on Linn DS and Noxon!!!
I shall not be buying another NMT device until this problem has been resolved and had hoped somebody there would have the answer.
Thanks again for your suggestions.
Regards,
Budgie
Find all posts by this user
02-23-2011, 04:10 PM
Post: #13
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
Searching this board for "Qnap AND Twonky" I found this:
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=48945
which suggests updating the Twonky Media server (version >6.30) via QPKG on the Qnap.

Perhaps it helps. Protesting to not buy further NMT's is not really an incentive for fellow users to help you. You might be addressing the vendor, but this is a community board who will not bother what you intend to buy or not, that's your choice.

Audio, video, disco - I hear, I see, I learn.
Wiki. Wiki? Wiki!
Find all posts by this user
02-26-2011, 02:40 AM
Post: #14
RE: Control of A210 from browser.
(02-23-2011 04:10 PM)dc11ab Wrote:  Searching this board for "Qnap AND Twonky" I found this:
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=48945
which suggests updating the Twonky Media server (version >6.30) via QPKG on the Qnap.

Perhaps it helps. Protesting to not buy further NMT's is not really an incentive for fellow users to help you. You might be addressing the vendor, but this is a community board who will not bother what you intend to buy or not, that's your choice.

Hi and many thanks for the suggested link. I had not found it in my searches although I did find similar information. I already use QPKG Twonky 6.0.30 version on my Qnap and I note that even in the thread you identified, the problems with flac files and control which are my concern have not been solved.

My original post was clearly seeking information prior to making a purchasing decision, on whether the particular problems I had experienced with my A110 had been addressed with the A210.

I am confident that if I cannot find an answer here on the community board, no vendor will be able to help and based on the information I have received or been able to study here in this forum I have concluded that the problems which are of concern to me have not been addressed and hence my logical conclusion not to purchase. I make no protest but note that I am not alone in seeking a solution to these issues.

Budgie
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  A210 not seeing USB powered drive on reboot lithiumus 15 1,012 03-13-2014 10:29 AM
Last Post: D4Dpower
  Two problems with my "new" A210 the_od 8 388 03-12-2014 02:07 PM
Last Post: the_od
  a210 usb networking Nobby 3 294 03-04-2014 07:05 PM
Last Post: Willem53
  Control via Xbox One? Useraid 0 306 11-29-2013 11:59 PM
Last Post: Useraid
  Popcorn Hour A210 vertical lines gadget man 0 346 11-04-2013 05:35 PM
Last Post: gadget man
  A110 - A210 rayg1979 0 329 10-29-2013 11:20 AM
Last Post: rayg1979
  Is there any dam switch that works reliably with A210? mendes9 4 656 10-19-2013 05:58 AM
Last Post: Willem53
  My A210 is dead xiaorui 0 442 10-08-2013 01:50 PM
Last Post: xiaorui
  Mini A210? rayg 9 1,810 09-15-2013 03:21 PM
Last Post: sike222
  Change Screen Saver in A210 with no internal HD clvk07 0 692 06-03-2013 09:34 PM
Last Post: clvk07

Forum Jump: