Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
My next networking step... filled up my pch!
04-25-2011, 07:55 PM
Post: #1
My next networking step... filled up my pch!
HIIII PPLZ Smile

Ive been on here for months learning and optimising my system with the help of everyone but ive come to my next project/step!

Ive filled up my first 2TB HDD (internal on PCH A200) and now i need to decide what to do...

This is my setup:

WIRED home network.. giga wiring.. but fail speed (about 11mb/sec transfer)

On network i have Home PC (2Tb spare), PCH and NAS (Netgear Stora) with 1TB on it, bt i can add another 2 if needed...

So should i just start putting stuff on my NAS and then my juebox (if library has both addresses) will just run both from NAS and internal.. or is there a better option.
I didnt really want to add a USB hdd onto my pch at this time..

Does this mean i ahve to use the samba thing or user groups or somthing? I havent set any up yet but im sure i can learn about how to in the wiki!.. just need a direction to start on!

-PCH A200 + 2TB WDEARS internal - NTFS
-4GB micro usb - NMT Apps
-Netgear Stora 4TB (2 x 2TB WDEARX)
-Panasonic 42" Plasma
-YAMJ w/ Unique Black Glas.Heart
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2011, 06:51 PM
Post: #2
RE: My next networking step... filled up my pch!
(04-25-2011 07:55 PM)Gangel Wrote:  HIIII PPLZ Smile

Ive been on here for months learning and optimising my system with the help of everyone but ive come to my next project/step!

Ive filled up my first 2TB HDD (internal on PCH A200) and now i need to decide what to do...

This is my setup:

WIRED home network.. giga wiring.. but fail speed (about 11mb/sec transfer)

On network i have Home PC (2Tb spare), PCH and NAS (Netgear Stora) with 1TB on it, bt i can add another 2 if needed...

So should i just start putting stuff on my NAS and then my juebox (if library has both addresses) will just run both from NAS and internal.. or is there a better option.
I didnt really want to add a USB hdd onto my pch at this time..

Does this mean i ahve to use the samba thing or user groups or somthing? I havent set any up yet but im sure i can learn about how to in the wiki!.. just need a direction to start on!

Take a look at the C200 manual and wiki re networking. Assuming you have windows, samba, a nmt app installed thru the setup wizard, is pretty easy to set up and allow sharing or streaming. If you dont have one switches offer usually the fastest easiest transfers. Plug switch into router, PCs, Popcorn into switch...
Cheers
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to floydo for this post
04-30-2011, 11:12 AM
Post: #3
RE: My next networking step... filled up my pch!
yeh i have a switch between comp and pch that goes to router for internet. Ill look into it. thanks for the respponse

-PCH A200 + 2TB WDEARS internal - NTFS
-4GB micro usb - NMT Apps
-Netgear Stora 4TB (2 x 2TB WDEARX)
-Panasonic 42" Plasma
-YAMJ w/ Unique Black Glas.Heart
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2011, 03:26 AM
Post: #4
RE: My next networking step... filled up my pch!
A few tips:-

1. Use static internal ip setup:-
http://portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm
2. Setup your PC sharing, your folder shares and permissions as per the WIKI:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...work_Share
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...p/Windows7
3. If you cannot access through 'Netwokr Browser' but can if you enter the actual SMB direct path then look at any Windows Live Apps and try the registry fix:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...gistry_Fix
4. Use the other software on the WIKI network share page to check the shares are setup correctly and master browser is OK.
5. Reboot your router when changing network settings.

I have all of my NMJ archives on my NAS. I use a shared folder with the NMT having write permission. Moving content from my PC to the NAS is quicker that moving it to the 200 slightly but my NAS has a greater capacity and RAID5 for rescuing my files should a HDD fail.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2011, 10:25 PM
Post: #5
RE: My next networking step... filled up my pch!
Hi,

Thanks for the tips/links, as I have been looking at using static IPs on my stuff in order for all my stuff to be able to communicate via my D-Link DSG-1210-10P switch, even if my VDSL modem/router (which assigns the IP addresses) is switched off.

Unfortunately, the wiki links for Windows network share are only for Vista & Seven. Althouth it is mentioned that a Windows XP guide already exists, I cannot find it...

If you know where it is, could you please add it to step 2. of you tips? It would surely be useful to others as well.

Thanks,

W.

(05-01-2011 03:26 AM)chris57 Wrote:  A few tips:-

1. Use static internal ip setup:-
http://portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm
2. Setup your PC sharing, your folder shares and permissions as per the WIKI:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...work_Share
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...p/Windows7
3. If you cannot access through 'Netwokr Browser' but can if you enter the actual SMB direct path then look at any Windows Live Apps and try the registry fix:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wiki/i...gistry_Fix
4. Use the other software on the WIKI network share page to check the shares are setup correctly and master browser is OK.
5. Reboot your router when changing network settings.

I have all of my NMJ archives on my NAS. I use a shared folder with the NMT having write permission. Moving content from my PC to the NAS is quicker that moving it to the 200 slightly but my NAS has a greater capacity and RAID5 for rescuing my files should a HDD fail.

PCH-C200; Apps on 8GB USB key; Media on 2TB 3.5" hotswap drive
D-Link DGS-1210-10P switch w/ Firmware 2.00.011
GIGABIT link is functional; case & chassis fans @ 5v
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  a210 usb networking Nobby 3 291 03-04-2014 07:05 PM
Last Post: Willem53
  Internet stopped working, Networking still works great [Solved] Tilne 2 1,118 02-01-2012 02:05 AM
Last Post: Tilne
  popcorn a210 dead , filled / drive [solved] michaelvv 0 1,329 12-10-2011 11:18 PM
Last Post: michaelvv
  networking question ert 1 690 10-12-2011 06:05 AM
Last Post: geekuix
  reinstall step stone firmware stmn 1 828 07-31-2011 11:47 PM
Last Post: zombiehunter
  Networking fail. A200-Switch-PC gigabit GlennA 2 1,492 04-06-2011 10:05 AM
Last Post: GlennA
  Belkin Powerline 120V Gigabit Networking problems barkerw 4 2,539 12-25-2010 03:43 PM
Last Post: dc11ab
  Wired Networking Problems nhahn 6 1,740 11-28-2010 07:52 AM
Last Post: accident
  C-200 2x HDD networking? Chris - CDI 2 1,577 06-25-2010 10:52 AM
Last Post: Chris - CDI
  Help Step by step with what ive got Gangel 8 1,443 04-23-2010 09:28 AM
Last Post: Gangel

Forum Jump: