Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Network Speed
11-01-2011, 05:30 PM (This post was last modified: 11-12-2011 01:28 PM by Flash3d.)
Post: #1
Network Speed
As I understand the network performance of the a300 is better then the a200, to benefit from the performance increase will a gigabit switch be required? Currently using a 10/100 switch and wondering if the speed increase will be fully utilised on this switch.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2011, 05:52 PM
Post: #2
RE: 100mb network speed
Is what your needs are. If you streaming Video in HD then you need a Router that supports 1GB and you do need a Switch that is 1 GB.

So first what your are using the network for? With out this Information you will not found any answers.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2011, 06:06 PM
Post: #3
RE: 100mb network speed
(11-01-2011 05:52 PM)jbejm Wrote:  Is what your needs are. If you streaming Video in HD then you need a Router that supports 1GB and you do need a Switch that is 1 GB.

So first what your are using the network for? With out this Information you will not found any answers.

I'm using it to stream movies from my pc, mostly 1080p. Maybe I should put the question differently. I was wondering if the 100mb network speed is already maxed out on the a200 or is there still some headroom? I sometimes have some stutter on high bitrate movies and was wondering if the a300 will perform better on 100mb.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2011, 06:09 PM (This post was last modified: 11-01-2011 06:11 PM by halfelite.)
Post: #4
RE: 100mb network speed
HD video does not need GIG-E not even close bluray bitrate max is 55Mbps that includes hd audio and video bitrate. so only half of 10/100. Will you get some benefit out of moving to gig-e maybe is it enough to warrant the cost is up to you. If you just stream video to your pch then no dont upgrade if you transfer files over network to internal hd It might be a smart move.

As said before 10/100 is plenty fast for any retail bitrate movie if you are getting stutter I would look else were before upgrading network equipment that might not even be the problem.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to halfelite for this post
11-01-2011, 06:15 PM (This post was last modified: 11-01-2011 06:38 PM by tyrindor.)
Post: #5
RE: 100mb network speed
One thing i've noticed on the A300 is that sound my plays immediately when starting a video when I have the network set to "Auto". On the A200, there is no sound for the first second. All my videos are over the network and I tested this both on the same receiver/setup. According to Werner, "auto" on the A300 will get you about 25MB/s, which is a little over 2x faster than 10/100. It seems like the A300 has the capability to buffer videos much faster. Either way both are very capable of playing full 1080p blu-rays, and that initial audio delay could be related to something else. This more likely has to do with the A300 being a little faster.

You would need a gigabit router and switch to take advantage of it. I assume your router is already gigabit, and gigabit switches are cheap. If all your doing is watching 1080p BD, 10/100 should technically already be overkill.

(11-01-2011 06:06 PM)Flash3d Wrote:  I'm using it to stream movies from my pc, mostly 1080p. Maybe I should put the question differently. I was wondering if the 100mb network speed is already maxed out on the a200 or is there still some headroom? I sometimes have some stutter on high bitrate movies and was wondering if the a300 will perform better on 100mb.

I had this problem sometimes when watching full blu-rays, but it was incredibly rare. Usually a large explosion would peak the bitrate and sometimes cause a stutter for second or two. I have not experienced it on the A300, but it was so rare on the A200 that it wasn't a problem. I believe it was related to the overall processing power in the A200, not the network interface.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to tyrindor for this post
11-01-2011, 06:25 PM
Post: #6
RE: 100mb network speed
I know for sure that I could not play My HD Blu-ray ISO with HD sound on 10/100 network and Media Players with 100 MB Network. The movie will stop and sound will disappear. After update to 1 GB Network and using my other Media Player the problem was still there. That is the reason Why I got The A-300 where my Movie working with out any Problem.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to jbejm for this post
11-01-2011, 06:34 PM (This post was last modified: 11-01-2011 06:36 PM by tyrindor.)
Post: #7
RE: 100mb network speed
(11-01-2011 06:25 PM)jbejm Wrote:  I know for sure that I could not play My HD Blu-ray ISO with HD sound on 10/100 network and Media Players with 100 MB Network. The movie will stop and sound will disappear. After update to 1 GB Network and using my other Media Player the problem was still there. That is the reason Why I got The A-300 where my Movie working with out any Problem.

Please don't start on this again. If you couldn't play a full BD ISO with HD sound enabled on 10/100 you have a faulty device, or there was something wrong with your cabling. I do it every day, and so do many people. You are using less than half of 10/100 to stream a full BD iso.

The only way I could see this happening, without something being faulty, is if you were running thousands of feet of ethernet between your devices. More than likely you have a faulty switch or something on your network that wasn't working correctly in 10/100 mode.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2011, 06:36 PM
Post: #8
RE: 100mb network speed
Thanks all, will receive my a300 tomorrow and will let you know if the (rare) stutter is gone. Also will take a gigabit switch from work (only 18€ Smile) and do some bitrate tests.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-01-2011, 06:38 PM
Post: #9
RE: 100mb network speed
(11-01-2011 06:25 PM)jbejm Wrote:  I know for sure that I could not play My HD Blu-ray ISO with HD sound on 10/100 network and Media Players with 100 MB Network. The movie will stop and sound will disappear. After update to 1 GB Network and using my other Media Player the problem was still there. That is the reason Why I got The A-300 where my Movie working with out any Problem.

Network issues can be the cause of anything. Could have been incompatibility with the router/switch you were first using, faulty connections, strange mtu sizes coming from a pc, people that use WHS have problems with the disc manager running while watching movies. But technically 10/100 is plenty for a full blu-ray stream. Its always hard to track down the root cause of why you get stutter.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-02-2011, 10:15 PM
Post: #10
RE: 100mb network speed
(11-01-2011 06:34 PM)tyrindor Wrote:  
(11-01-2011 06:25 PM)jbejm Wrote:  I know for sure that I could not play My HD Blu-ray ISO with HD sound on 10/100 network and Media Players with 100 MB Network. The movie will stop and sound will disappear. After update to 1 GB Network and using my other Media Player the problem was still there. That is the reason Why I got The A-300 where my Movie working with out any Problem.

Please don't start on this again. If you couldn't play a full BD ISO with HD sound enabled on 10/100 you have a faulty device, or there was something wrong with your cabling. I do it every day, and so do many people. You are using less than half of 10/100 to stream a full BD iso.

The only way I could see this happening, without something being faulty, is if you were running thousands of feet of ethernet between your devices. More than likely you have a faulty switch or something on your network that wasn't working correctly in 10/100 mode.

Can someone please post some network streaming speeds for the A300 -- that would be terrific. I am holding off buying until I can see this will stream HD content better than the A200.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-02-2011, 10:47 PM
Post: #11
RE: 100mb network speed
I found it interesting that when I got my A-300 is that on the box it says "Connectivity: Ethernet 10/100 Mbps".

I have not had any problem with streaming so far, the 1:1 rips of my BluRays have been good.

PCH C-200 and A-300 - Eversion - Philips 47" HDTV - Logitech Harmony One - Denon AVR-3310
Windows Home Server 20TB
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2011, 12:09 AM
Post: #12
RE: 100mb network speed
Just got my A300 and after a stuttering start, reboot of switches and router seemed to fix that, I'm getting 17MB/s via SMB. On the 200 I get around 11MB/s. I'm expecting more and will keep trying.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2011, 09:41 AM
Post: #13
RE: 100mb network speed
(11-03-2011 12:09 AM)chris57 Wrote:  Just got my A300 and after a stuttering start, reboot of switches and router seemed to fix that, I'm getting 17MB/s via SMB. On the 200 I get around 11MB/s. I'm expecting more and will keep trying.

Nice, thanks, interested in peak 'average' speeds, of other A300 owners too.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2011, 06:35 PM
Post: #14
RE: 100mb network speed
Just tested my A300 with a TP-Link gigabit switch (TL-SG1005D) and performance on gig is worse then 100mb. Did a powercycle of my TP-Link router, TP-Link switch and my A300.

A300 is connected to the switch and the switch is connected to my router. Files are stored on my pc which is connected to my router. Whole path is gigabit.

When using test clips (Bird scene Planet Earth) with different bitrates i can get up to 60mbit with 100mb and when i switch the A300 to Auto (=gig) i get stutter on the same clip.

On my A200 i get the same results, but i know that gigabit is borked on the A200. Both players play 60Mbit fine on 100mb.

I thought that gigabit was fixed on the A300. Maybe the TP-Link switch is not "compatible" with the A300?

One thing i could try is to connect the A300 directly to the router and bypassing one switch.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2011, 06:55 PM
Post: #15
RE: 100mb network speed
i think chris use also a tp link
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cannot Map Network Drive from PC to Popcorn Hour scotty1234 8 6,870 04-12-2014 08:05 PM
Last Post: Willem53
  After update firmware of A300 through network, NMT interface is black ongco 1 543 01-21-2014 07:42 AM
Last Post: Willem53
  A300 - Network very slow after reset / format Markxvx 0 403 12-05-2013 11:42 PM
Last Post: Markxvx
  C-300 network problem ERR004 kjalen 2 481 11-20-2013 05:06 AM
Last Post: kjalen
  Error. setting could not be saved (network) mastersource 4 1,481 10-15-2013 06:28 PM
Last Post: cubanpete
  Slow Navigation thru Network Shares chris0583 10 1,732 10-13-2013 06:44 PM
Last Post: chris0583
  C-300 Map Network Drive Ringovski 3 882 10-09-2013 07:46 PM
Last Post: cmazz
  c300 network problem pace508 6 1,644 08-14-2013 06:26 AM
Last Post: Taha
  How to ... manage files on hard disk attached to A300 over network via Windows 7 m6rtg 4 2,825 05-12-2013 05:44 PM
Last Post: jlabaer
  "Error: setting could not be saved" in the network wizard Cokegod 5 1,144 04-14-2013 01:56 AM
Last Post: wgstarks

Forum Jump: