Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
[Feature] Discrete Power IR Commands
11-07-2011, 01:41 PM
Post: #1
Discrete Power IR Commands
Posted in the Hardware forum and got no responses so I assume they do not exists. I would like a discrete Standby and Wake IR codes. Tried the ones posted on the WiKi for the older models which did not work.

Thanks
Ernie
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2011, 02:07 PM
Post: #2
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
They dont work on the 200 series only 100. dont think it is possible.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2011, 02:56 PM
Post: #3
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
A standard universal remote tactic is to try and find another standard button press that can bring a device out of stand by. For instance, most DVD players will come out of stand by if you press "play" or "menu" etc.

You then just set up your macros with "play" for turning the device on and only use "power on/off" for shutting down.

It can work fairly well and certainly reduces the instances of a Harmony remote getting out of sync, for example.

I've not tried on a PCH, but will the "Source" or "play" buttons bring it out of stand by?

Please vote for VIDEO DIRECT support for the C200 here
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2011, 06:20 PM
Post: #4
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
Havent tried that. Actually, I am running an URC MSC-400 which has a video voltage sensor inputs specifically for TOAD devices like this. Luckily, the A300's component output is still "HOT" even when running HDMI at 1080p so I ran either the red or green out to the MSC - dont have it in front one me so I cant remember which but one of them did not work while the other did. This way the MSC knows if it is on or off by voltage.

This works but would prefer to have the discretes. Cant image why it wouldnt be possible, it is basically a computer and the "power" button on the front is a toggle button not a switch. If the SHUTDOWN command can work (which it does on mine) I dont see why discrete standby coudnt. They would just have to map the IR commands.

For me I can work with it but I am sure there are many who do not have anything like the MSC400 in their setup that would appreciate having the option.

Ernie
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-08-2011, 07:05 PM
Post: #5
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
It has been answered before on the 200 series, have a search and you should find it. Think the chip can't handle it from memory or it could be something to do with CEC-HDMI cant really remember.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 08:22 AM
Post: #6
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
Werner told them to implement it in the A-300. See his post in the A-300 announcement thread (item 9):

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...#pid513231
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 01:44 PM
Post: #7
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
Thanks Mike. Good to know!

Ernie
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 02:18 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 02:36 PM by john_C200.)
Post: #8
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
Good on Werner for trying. I seem to remember there were quite a few people disappointed it was missing from the 200 series.
(11-08-2011 02:56 PM)Evil Engineer Wrote:  A standard universal remote tactic is to try and find another standard button press that can bring a device out of stand by. For instance, most DVD players will come out of stand by if you press "play" or "menu" etc.

You then just set up your macros with "play" for turning the device on and only use "power on/off" for shutting down.

It can work fairly well and certainly reduces the instances of a Harmony remote getting out of sync, for example.

I've not tried on a PCH, but will the "Source" or "play" buttons bring it out of stand by?

Great suggestion. I often use this something similar for turning off as well - using that 'magic' button (to ensure state is 'on') followed by the toggle on/off should ensure a device ends up in standby. This is particularly useful if you have an 'all off' macro and switch between devices between a viewing session and potentially lose state.

Unfortunately I could never find a button on the C200 that just brought it out of standby.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2011, 07:32 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2011 07:53 PM by MikeMcr.)
Post: #9
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
I think one of the reasons why people were disappointed at the lack of discrete power IR commands on the later models (myself included) is because of the way the device turns on when receiving mains power.

I'm not sure if it's different in other countries but that is very unusual for the UK. A consumer electrical device usually either always starts in "standby mode" or remembers the last state before power was lost.

If I have equipment plugged into a power saving strip and apply power I don't expect the TV, the amp, the DVR, the Blu-ray player etc. to suddenly all turn on. They don't and stay in standby mode.

The A-x popcorn devices, annoyingly, always fully power on. This makes it difficult to manage with universal controls such as the Harmony which expect devices to be off. If you only have a "toggle" power command, "on" would turn it "off"!

Of course a solution to the remote issue is discrete power IR commands but they were removed after the A-100 devices...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to MikeMcr for this post
11-10-2011, 04:23 AM
Post: #10
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
We need to know if it is possible and if it is going to be implemented by Syabas. Werner?

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2011, 05:16 AM
Post: #11
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
(11-10-2011 04:23 AM)chris57 Wrote:  We need to know if it is possible and if it is going to be implemented by Syabas. Werner?

Any update on the search for discrete on/off IR codes? Huh
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2012, 10:14 AM
Post: #12
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
any update on this? please?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2012, 09:42 PM
Post: #13
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
+1. Want these too for my integration project. Would be happier with IP (port 30000) commands but IR would do, and there's no reason why if they add one type that they shouldn't add the other.

Thoughts on Syabas support? Share them here
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-21-2012, 05:22 PM (This post was last modified: 12-21-2012 05:22 PM by floydo.)
Post: #14
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
+1
This could be a feature on the A400 given an all new chipset and firmware...but no mention I can find by werner.
Another sales feature?
Smile

Sure would be nice on the 200series...

A210, Samba, lots of flacs, and smilin
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2013, 06:36 PM
Post: #15
RE: Discrete Power IR Commands
Same here, looking for easy way to really shut it down with my Harmony One.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Auto Standby or Power off Antobello 6 1,714 06-01-2013 10:09 AM
Last Post: pagocs
  [Feature] Discrete IR/IP commands brandenpro 0 653 12-06-2011 07:00 AM
Last Post: brandenpro

Forum Jump: