Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
[AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
01-15-2012, 02:48 AM
Post: #16
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
The problem with playing XviD files is not related to which show are you trying to play, but it's indeed caused by "malformed" files, having a non-supported mp3 vbr stream. A110 firmware must have been thoroughly coded with compliance to the supported standards, in a way that it does read those "malcoded" XviDs but it's unable to play both video and audio streams in any way.

Users desire is that Syabas should update the firmware to allow any avi with any stream format/rate to be played as if it was coded properly. As a well-known problem with the A110 it should have been solved months ago, before this project's end of life. It's disgusting to keep on recoding every file before downloading them to the PCH.

It doesn't look as a fair behaviour to show with your customers. This may keep us just away from buying new PCH players anymore.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2012, 09:38 PM (This post was last modified: 01-17-2012 10:13 PM by Mountainpeaks.)
Post: #17
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
Same problem here. No audio on some files. Seem to be only LOL releases so far. Like for instance: Alcatraz.S01E01.HDTV.XviD-LOL.[VTV].avi

Files are playing great on my OSX Lion 10.7.2. Need firmware upgrade for A-100. It´s been a while since the last one.

Heres a longer thread regarding the same problem: http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...645&page=9

For some strange reason reason no official posts are made. Looks like were out of hope even though the problems everywhere in most forums for the 3-4 last years.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 12:00 AM
Post: #18
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
There's plenty of hope.
Step into the 21st century and stop downloading LOL's rubbish xvid encodes and get 720p mkvs.
Really, who still watches xvids.

Linksys E3000 (DD-WRT) - Cisco SG 200-08 - Synology DS1812+ - A-400 - Yamaha RX-V671 - Panasonic TC-P55GT30
C-200 w/ MN-200 WiFi - 30" Philips.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2012, 03:27 PM
Post: #19
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
Offcourse I went for the 720p versions the minute after posting above. Which as you point out works fantastic. Anyways this does not solve the problem at hand. I do agree that rubbish encodes dont hack it. But if VLC on my mac playes them just fine, so should my A-100. Should be a relative small firmware update one should think.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2012, 08:48 PM
Post: #20
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
Polite bump!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2012, 03:49 PM
Post: #21
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
Politer bump! Please keep us up to-date!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-21-2012, 11:05 PM
Post: #22
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
I have it too. Everything from 2008 and 2009 in divx with vbr or AC3 is silent. One would think if you have the same files and the same player, you are safe and it should work. Running 7 seasons of west wing or 154 episodes thru a fixer doesn't sound like much fun. It is sort of like loosing a fifth of your library...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-26-2012, 09:31 PM
Post: #23
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
polite bump too pls

A110 - 01-17-091202-15-POP-403 wired to standard TV
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-10-2012, 08:41 PM
Post: #24
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
Anyone know if this is a problem with the newer models?
Might be time for an upgrade, but not going with popcorn if its not fixed on the newer models
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-17-2012, 07:29 PM
Post: #25
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
It seems like no one is working to solve this problem, doesn't it?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2012, 09:55 AM
Post: #26
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
I have a similar problem trying to play Freeview HD files recorded in the UK on my A110 Picture but no sound. Will definately not replace with an other Popcorn if the support remains so poor.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2012, 02:27 PM (This post was last modified: 05-02-2012 02:33 PM by Krog.)
Post: #27
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
(11-29-2011 09:24 PM)krisptoe Wrote:  It has to do with the newer files being encoded as VBR mp3. Open it in VirtualDub (it should notify you about the issue), "Direct Stream Copy" the video, "Full processing mode" on the audio and compression to mp3. Took less than a minute per video to fix. My PCH-110 now plays these files without issue. Wink
Thanks for that. Works perfect.
We have two A-110's. One in the kitchen and one in their bedroom for the kids.

I could NOT give ONE single damn for Syabas's decision to stop supporting this player. It's probably even understandable if there's new devices to work on.
However, it's alright those saying stop downloading XviD's (ffs - video snobbery - really? Rolleyes ) but while I like HD MKV's for the C-200 in the lounge, these kind of files aren't always available for SD kids stuff and especially old SD kids stuff, so a workaround IS needed. You can't just decide to write off countless videos files just be look elitist. What a joke. I've hundreds of kids XviD's that I've had for years not downloaded recently so it's got nothing to do with downloading crappy P2P releases.
Some work, some don't so a fix is good, in whatever way presented.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2012, 01:32 PM
Post: #28
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
Bump, still not fixed for a lot of files. More and more files are NOT played by this player I haven't even had for that long yet.

Really poor on the support part Sad.

Isn't there any player short of a full-on HTPC that can keep supporting video files for more than a couple of years?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2012, 01:44 PM
Post: #29
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
(07-31-2012 01:32 PM)ZesPak Wrote:  Bump, still not fixed for a lot of files. More and more files are NOT played by this player I haven't even had for that long yet.

Really poor on the support part Sad.

Isn't there any player short of a full-on HTPC that can keep supporting video files for more than a couple of years?
It will never be fixed, the player is EOL.

This player was supported for 4 years, which is much longer than the usual couple of years of other brand players.

SwissCenter Developer
Players: Popcorn A-300 | Popcorn A-200 | Popcorn A-100 | Netgear EVA700
AV: Pioneer VSX-915 | Samsung LE40C650
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-27-2012, 08:39 PM
Post: #30
RE: [AUDIO] PCH-A110 not playing audio on some files! Codec problem?
hi. i'm using the A110 optically.

i don't have audio only with certain MKV's:

Audio
ID : 2
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 1h 19mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 510 Kbps
Channel(s) : 5 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 860 MiB (26%)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No


also:

Audio
ID : 2
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 2h 26mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 510 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 1.55 GiB (19%)
Title : English DTS 5.1
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

can anyone please help? these are pretty new 720P MKV's..
i set all audio options on digital.
is there something i'm doing wrong or is it the codec?

thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Audio] No sound with Main AAC Profile frayaka 2 1,009 01-12-2014 11:06 PM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [AUDIO] No sound after passing trough Receiver - A-110 vitoraugusto 4 1,571 10-01-2013 04:52 PM
Last Post: vitoraugusto
  AC3 audio not detected by A-100? sarumbear 1 1,326 08-03-2013 12:55 AM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  [Audio] [A110] Why is this audio "scratchy" sounding? hcour 0 1,229 05-20-2013 02:51 AM
Last Post: hcour
  [AUDIO] Noise at beginning of file play Iggy 0 1,328 01-23-2013 06:53 PM
Last Post: Iggy
Wink .srt wont play! problem fixed! dsob 6 29,258 12-30-2012 06:58 PM
Last Post: Shamino
  [audio] mopidy jkoks 7 4,654 12-16-2012 05:12 PM
Last Post: dizz-e
  [AUDIO] DLNA possibilities Djiest 1 1,514 12-02-2012 08:52 AM
Last Post: Djiest
  [SUBTITLE] SBS subtitles PCH-A110? iradu 7 4,117 10-31-2012 10:20 AM
Last Post: cosmos
  Should the A110 be able to play ts files with DTS HD MA audio? lchiu7 7 4,698 10-22-2012 10:59 PM
Last Post: lchiu7

Forum Jump: