Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
A-300 Issues (and successes!)
02-29-2012, 10:12 AM
Post: #16
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
I will compare the files you sent with the existing ans see if I can work it out
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-03-2012, 03:07 PM
Post: #17
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
@all, apologies for not helping out here - been snowed under,

So to summarise - OVersight scanner does not work on A300 ?
But there are some tweaks that fix it?
Does the GUI need tweaks also?

I can pull these into the code base if you want, and we can test a new Oversight installer on A300?
Just point me in the right direction...

Oversight: Jukebox | FeedTime: Automatic nzbs
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-03-2012, 10:36 PM (This post was last modified: 03-03-2012 10:37 PM by Gsxie.)
Post: #18
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
OVersight scanner does not work on A300 ?
Correct, starting a rescan gives the following error.
sh: /share/Apps/oversight/bin/nmt100/daemon: No such file or directory

Does the GUI need tweaks also?
Nope, the web based GUI works fine

Will help you out to get it working at the A300, let me know what information you need.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-10-2012, 04:38 PM
Post: #19
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
I have the opposite need where I just want to make scanning work.. has anyone sorted that out?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 12:40 PM
Post: #20
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
In addition to what was found already:

Some issues I see happening with 300s:

- network shares.. there is no "sharename" path on the drive as far as I can tell. it's using the share1, 2, 3, 4 method and looks like the hard links are no longer added.
- the gaya ui url used to mount shares probably doesn't work but it may, not real way for me to test at this stage
- /share is a symlink, not sure if the web server will follow this (based on the other symlink problems people report this might be the problem)
- I also see the sh: /share/Apps/oversight/bin/nmt100/daemon: No such file or directory error. not sure what it's trying to call, is the oversight.cgi source anywhere to look at?
- checking the scripts I could see it appears that it'll detect the cpu correctly and use the 200 binaries
- I dont' think the old apache is on the system, I think it's a modded light_httpd with syabas extensions which may have different security restrictions
- all teh files appear to be nmt.nmt owner EXCEPT symlinks which are root.root owner
- chowning them did change but under 5 mins later they went back to root.root
- just connected a drive, rebooting a few times, a usb drive there's like 10 different drive urls, all point to the same drives but there's only 2 drives physically there.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 01:33 PM (This post was last modified: 03-11-2012 01:34 PM by Cherek.)
Post: #21
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
(03-11-2012 12:40 PM)accident Wrote:  In addition to what was found already:

Some issues I see happening with 300s:


- I also see the sh: /share/Apps/oversight/bin/nmt100/daemon: No such file or directory error. not sure what it's trying to call, is the oversight.cgi source anywhere to look at?

Hi accident, I think you are aware of it but just in case, the googlecode page is this: http://code.google.com/p/oversight/
BTW thanks for helping Oversight go to a next level. We might need to rename it to Oversion or Eversight Wink


PCH-A100 (FW 01-17-100317-15-POP-402-000) (00-17-091216-15-POP-402 NMT Apps)
Philips 28PW9611/01 PAL SD, connected with Composite

Old skoolCool
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 01:35 PM (This post was last modified: 03-11-2012 01:36 PM by accident.)
Post: #22
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
I didn't really do much but just see how it works and minor tweaks and repackage it. it's a standalone app, just happens to install into yamj as a skin. Vaidysar has the hard part Smile
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 03:13 PM
Post: #23
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
(03-03-2012 10:36 PM)Gsxie Wrote:  OVersight scanner does not work on A300 ?
Correct, starting a rescan gives the following error.
sh: /share/Apps/oversight/bin/nmt100/daemon: No such file or directory

Does the GUI need tweaks also?
Nope, the web based GUI works fine

Will help you out to get it working at the A300, let me know what information you need.

OK that looks like it thinks A300 is a A100.

So issues are:
1. Finding nzbget path for firmware nzbget (the best fix for this is to upgrade to latest nzbget via CSI).

2. Installation not finding MIN_FIRMWARE_VERSION file and thus making some 'wrong turns' in the logic.

3. scripts thinking they are on 100 series. (prob related to 2)

Oversight: Jukebox | FeedTime: Automatic nzbs
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 03:38 PM
Post: #24
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
MIN_FIRMWARE_VERSION is in /nmt/apps, it should be found.

what else do you need checked?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 03:47 PM
Post: #25
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
(03-11-2012 03:38 PM)accident Wrote:  MIN_FIRMWARE_VERSION is in /nmt/apps, it should be found.

what else do you need checked?

Ah can you post output of following on 300 series...
cat /proc/cpuinfo
cat /nmt/apps/MIN_FIRMWARE_VER

Oversight: Jukebox | FeedTime: Automatic nzbs
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 04:05 PM (This post was last modified: 03-11-2012 04:06 PM by jasch.)
Post: #26
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
PHP Code:
system type             Sigma Designs TangoX
processor               
0
cpu model               
MIPS 74Kc V4.12  FPU V0.0
BogoMIPS                
398.13
wait instruction        
yes
microsecond timers      
yes
tlb_entries             
64
extra interrupt vector  
yes
hardware watchpoint     
yescount4address/irw mask: [0x0ffc0x0ff80x0ff80x0ffb]
ASEs implemented        mips16 dsp
shadow register sets    
1
core                    
0
VCED exceptions         
not available
VCEI exceptions         
not available

SMP8XXX Chip ID         
8647
SMP8XXX Rev ID          
2
System bus frequency    
398250000 Hz
CPU frequency           
796500000 Hz
DSP frequency           
398250000 Hz 

PHP Code:
05-01-111007-23-POP-421-000 

Oversight/Catalog is working for me (with changes recommended a while back). Not sure why Accident's not working...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 04:06 PM (This post was last modified: 03-11-2012 04:26 PM by accident.)
Post: #27
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
Code:
system type             : Sigma Designs TangoX
processor               : 0
cpu model               : MIPS 74Kc V4.12  FPU V0.0
BogoMIPS                : 398.13
wait instruction        : yes
microsecond timers      : yes
tlb_entries             : 64
extra interrupt vector  : yes
hardware watchpoint     : yes, count: 4, address/irw mask: [0x0404, 0x0da0, 0x0ff8, 0x072b]
ASEs implemented        : mips16 dsp
shadow register sets    : 1
core                    : 0
VCED exceptions         : not available
VCEI exceptions         : not available

SMP8XXX Chip ID         : 8647
SMP8XXX Rev ID          : 2
System bus frequency    : 398250000 Hz
CPU frequency           : 796500000 Hz
DSP frequency           : 398250000 Hz

Code:
05-01-111007-23-POP-421-000

Stuff you may need:

shares are not in servname,servlink in setting.txt, they are in netfs_name,netfs_url although getting them from the api is more reliable. you'll also find the password to be encrypted for smb shares and nfs shares that were once smb will have the smb crap in the url. There's like 5 variations of the format these might be in.

I am not sure if the 8883 cgi command to mount is still working, I never used it.

firmwares:
412 and 413 are popboxes
415 is the asiabox
417 is the V8
420 is the A300
421 is the C300
422 I think is the plug slim that sigma showed off at ces, but the video I got it from was unclear

popboxes "do not support" nmt.. (read between the lines)

http://127.0.0.1:8008/system?arg0=system_info

will return some information on system via the api. marketing name, chipset, ram (ram is wrong on the 300s), it will also give you a list of modules to see if GAYA is in the list. When gaya is found, eversion/yamj app uses setting.txt for shares. When it's not found, all gaya features are disabled and shares/drives and their current paths come from the api commands.

Note, the command is not in the 200 public firmwares.. if you get back an error you know your on a 200 with gaya. If 8008 isn't listening, then it's a 100 series

I use this command over all others to tell what support I need for yamj app and eversion. It was actualyl added as a request because I was tired of releasing a new version just because the firmware number changed. syabas uses it now also for some things.

shares do not have a NETWORK_SHARE/name of share/ path in some models. some have a symlink to add it, but some are just share1, share2, etc.. those you need to use the api to get the file:/// path to the share if it's mounted. this changes all the time, it's hell to keep up with it especially when some firmwares don't update for a year for the changes.

I do all my mounting via the api, it's using the network browser so they do not unmount other shares and they mount multiple. the multi-share support really screwed with this and everything mounts like this now but some. It's documented horrible and there's 3 different ways to call it and on any firmware, 1 of the methods will work and it changes all the time.


These are copied out of a browser so not too pretty:

Current C200 beta firmware:
PHP Code:
<theDavidBox>
<
request>
<
arg0>system_info</arg0>
<
module>system</module>
</
request>
<
response>
<
chipset>SMP8643</chipset>
<
features>
<
feature>front panel</feature>
<
feature>nmt</feature>
</
features>
<
model>c200</model>
<
modules>
<
module>app market</module>
<
module>rich ui</module>
<
module>gaya</module>
</
modules>
<
name>Popcorn Hour C-200</name>
<
ram>512000000</ram>
</
response>
<
returnValue>0</returnValue>
</
theDavidBox

Current a300 firmware:
PHP Code:
<theDavidBox>
<
request>
<
arg0>system_info</arg0>
<
module>system</module>
</
request>
<
response>
<
chipset>SMP8646</chipset>
<
features>
<
feature>sd card</feature>
</
features>
<
model>a300</model>
<
modules>
<
module>app market</module>
<
module>rich ui</module>
<
module>source</module>
</
modules>
<
name>A300</name>
<
ram>256000000</ram>
</
response>
<
returnValue>0</returnValue>
</
theDavidBox

I can get the other models if you really need them but this is with and without gaya so you can see.

returnValue is not 0 when it errors.. it's fairly undocumented and I see tons of numbers I have no clue what they are. It also lies a lot so also use the content being there for validation it didn't error.


I edited my post a hair
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to accident for this post
03-11-2012, 07:17 PM (This post was last modified: 03-11-2012 07:42 PM by accident.)
Post: #28
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
Ok I have it scanning on the a300 now...:

This is a default install and I was not trying to make it work with nzbget so I didn't do the previously mentioned mods..

I made the following changes, I have no clue which one actually make it work..:

catalog.cfg:

catalog_user="root"
catalog_group="root"

- Deleted the nmt100 folder
- copied the nmt200 folder into the nmt100 folder Smile

rebooted so boot would chown the filesystem the normal pch install..

Scan is fine..

Now changes in network shares.. (LORDY TAKE NOTE, PART OF THIS IS IN THE C200 RC2 BETA):

A300:
- the normal NETWORK_SHARE/name is no there.
- Assuming mounting is attempted before a scan, it didn't mount.
- i went into the network share normal file system, it mounted it as NETWORK_SHARE/share1
- I edited the paths in oversight for share1 and started a scan
- it's flying by (much faster, some pauses).
- (note: I have the rwin pflash mod in).

didn't try:
- editing my sharename to also be share1 to see if mounting would work and just predict it as share1. should work. I would actually need 4 shares to get my full nas collection connected, that's another project for another day..

C200 RC2 Beta:
- it's not automatically mounting, I need to go into the share to force it to mount.
- path is NETWORK_SHARE/name
- index.db is never made. (I think that's the name)
- my dns keeps stopping to work.









UPDATE: a300 doesn't appear to be making an index.db also.. it's up to 60 items in the "main screen", nothing to click on via browser. same behavior as c200 rc2.

Is there a problem in 2006 and it's not the firmware?

wow this this playing is crying.. so slow Smile but I have scans, build.php going. my version of it without the xslt stuff cause I didn't want to install it..

as I expected, I needed the network share set to name share1 or the saved share vs the play share can't be mounted by eversion. I'm getting a new error now but I need to get more scanned in before I interrupt it to get the debugging on what's going on with a300 playback and these generic share names sorted out.

It's going to be awhile for the scan to finish. I'll post what happens next eventually.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2012, 09:07 PM (This post was last modified: 03-11-2012 09:46 PM by accident.)
Post: #29
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
killing the scan didn't go to well.. instant death
ok, so I edited the share to change the name to share1.. as said before that didn't work well.. so I manually edited some xml files to adjust the path, didn't go..

apparently in the a300 if you edit a share, all your shares are going to break except for the magic however syabas it.. I had to reboot, delete all shares.. reboot, add the share1 back in and viola working perfect with the share1 name..

Don't type-o your shares...

In my opinion this setup is rather unusable.. it crawls while scanning.. not sure how this would work for daily usage but initially I have better things to do.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-21-2012, 09:56 AM
Post: #30
RE: A-300 Issues (and successes!)
can someone check if r2048 installs ok on A300 via CSI ?

http://code.google.com/p/oversight/downloads/list

I still have a few more bugs to fix , but thought I'd package up for someone to test A300 in the meantime ...

Oversight: Jukebox | FeedTime: Automatic nzbs
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  connectivity issues with VPN? tebbo66 0 280 03-24-2014 12:08 PM
Last Post: tebbo66
  oversight scan issues jamer1410 8 1,942 07-06-2012 09:14 PM
Last Post: LRaven
  Oversight issues jamer1410 6 2,459 12-07-2011 02:20 PM
Last Post: Micrin
  Oversight issues Pinnacle7 2 1,817 09-03-2010 04:39 PM
Last Post: lordy
  Oversight 667 issues and PCH 200 d4lions 0 1,676 01-05-2010 12:45 AM
Last Post: d4lions

Forum Jump: