Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Upgrade or not upgrading ?
12-15-2011, 10:12 AM
Post: #1
Upgrade or not upgrading ?
Hi guys, I would like to have your advice on this. I know, some people will tell me to search the forum and I did. The thing is that every case is different so even if I got different views from the forum I would like a view on my case.

So here it is. I am running the PCH A-110, for maybe over 2 years now. All has been working good. However, I had a little incident recently (server time out problem) that made me realize there has been new versions of the NMT released, and more specifically the A-300.

So I'm thinking, should I upgrade to an A-300 ? Knowing that my A-110 is back to full functionnality and that I've read some comments on A-300 bugs ? What would be the greates benefit ?

Could people that upgraded get back to me with their feedback ?

Also, what did you guys do with your A-110 ? I looked on ebay, it hasn't got a great value for selling.

I hope to hear back from the PCH community !
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2011, 11:08 PM (This post was last modified: 12-22-2011 11:10 PM by zx11guy.)
Post: #2
RE: Upgrade or not upgrading ?
DO NOT. I have had 7 popcornhour units & bought 2 a-300 units to replace 2 a-210 units, I have had NOTHING but problems with them.

I have a 8TB windows homeserver with what used to be a perfect database (luckily I backed it up before installing the a-300s).

it has been nothing but a huge pain in the ass, none of my TV series show up anymore. I rescanned the entire database, now a bunch is screwed up. I try to fix it, it locks up or changes back.

It may be ok for someone with an internal hard drive, but as of now it seems to suck for a collection of my size. Syabas is a good company & I'm sure they will fix it, but I would hold off for now.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2011, 01:51 PM
Post: #3
RE: Upgrade or not upgrading ?
(12-22-2011 11:08 PM)zx11guy Wrote:  DO NOT. I have had 7 popcornhour units & bought 2 a-300 units to replace 2 a-210 units, I have had NOTHING but problems with them.

I have a 8TB windows homeserver with what used to be a perfect database (luckily I backed it up before installing the a-300s).

it has been nothing but a huge pain in the ass, none of my TV series show up anymore. I rescanned the entire database, now a bunch is screwed up. I try to fix it, it locks up or changes back.

It may be ok for someone with an internal hard drive, but as of now it seems to suck for a collection of my size. Syabas is a good company & I'm sure they will fix it, but I would hold off for now.

I also have a homeserver with several 100 series PCHs and am planning on upgrading, what do you mean it screwed up your databases?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2011, 08:44 PM
Post: #4
RE: Upgrade or not upgrading ?
I got it going a bit more, it takes forever for the tv show database to load, then when it does it can take minutes to play if it does at all. I'm just disgusted at the moment & need to walk away & look at it again later. It works great with movies or great on anything if I'm just looking at filenames.
I wish I would have held off a bit, I'm sure they'll figure it out
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2011, 10:48 AM
Post: #5
RE: Upgrade or not upgrading ?
If you follow the naming guides from here:-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=46095
You'll not go far wrong.

Don't sit there though and expect it to take your YAMJ naming or other naming or database setups as it wont. If you dont want to name as required for NMJ then stick to YAMJ and use Eversion and one of its skins.

Then for the ones that it cannot match or matches incorrectly then first try the edit function when within NMJ itself. Many times if you find that it downloads but then cannot update try one of the many other fanart or cover images that are available. I think that some of the images don't work but if you persevere and try some of the other ones offered then it will work.
Remember to only press delete if you want your video files erasing.

If you cannot get it to 100% via editing within NMJ then use one of the any NMJv2 database editing toools:
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=56594
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=46208
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...?tid=56915

Finally NMJ is only one part of the 300 series. It is not mandatory. You can use the standard UI and simply drop a cover image in, this is how the likes of WDTV works and what a lot of users have requested. It's a simplified setup and nothing like as good as NMJ or third party jukebox (YAMJ).
The 300 has a quicker Flash Ui then the 200, as it only has Flash and not gaya and Flash to run like the 200. the extra cpu power of the 300 and the fixed gigabit compatibility are the main points for most.

Read this review of the 300 from a home server site and you can see the different UI options, the fact that the 300 is the most complete NMT on launch, etc;-
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2011/12/...00-review/
No problems there with the database or tV shows. I have many different TV series some with as many as 18 seasons. They are all in Season folders and then within a folder named after the series. I have no NFO files and simply followe the guide. They are all working fine, each episode has its own synopsis and each season its own fanart/cover etc.

The 300 is a very worthy upgrade for 100 series owners. 100 series owners have had network transfers of around 4MB/s (7MB/s via FTP) and can struggle with the most demanding bluray scenes. The 300 has no worries in that score, streaming bitrate worries are a thing of the past, network transfers are nearly 4 times quicker at 13MB/s (if using source for something else) or around 16-17MB/s if not.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.



Smilies
:) ;) :cool: :D
:P :rolleyes: :shy: :(
:lightbulb: :angry: :-/ (A)
:heart: :dodgy: :blush: :huh:
:my: :sleepy: :exclamation: :S
[get more]

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Upgrade From A-110. SeagullsFan 8 980 01-28-2014 03:34 PM
Last Post: chris57
  Upgrading from C-200 walkerx 5 658 01-20-2014 10:34 AM
Last Post: chris57
  should i upgrade beeceedeecee 2 472 11-14-2013 01:36 PM
Last Post: skilled
  upgrade time... a110 now what? bohane 13 1,267 11-06-2013 06:07 PM
Last Post: bohane
  Upgrading A-110 to A-400 sm2k 3 1,672 08-19-2013 01:02 AM
Last Post: diablo
  Should I Upgrade?? rayg 26 2,806 06-08-2013 07:30 AM
Last Post: accident
  What about a board upgrade for us c200 users jonny555 1 1,208 08-09-2012 03:30 PM
Last Post: accident
  upgrade c200 to c300 xua 4 2,453 05-18-2012 05:42 PM
Last Post: chris57
  Will A-300 upgrade from A-110 solve my problems (Playon compatibility)? Alexbo 16 4,947 01-31-2012 04:11 PM
Last Post: accident
  Will I benefit from upgrading my A-110 to a 200/300 box? DustyBeta 2 2,005 10-27-2011 01:23 PM
Last Post: tyrindor

Forum Jump: