Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
04-29-2012, 09:37 PM
Post: #1
3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
Hello, I have a 3TB in a Thermaltake BlacX 5G (usb 3) but nothing happens when I connect it... anyone with one of this "cases" working?

Thanks!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2012, 09:40 PM (This post was last modified: 04-29-2012 09:47 PM by accident.)
Post: #2
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
quick googling and I'm seeing reports all over the place of 3tb+ not working in them all over reviews about the product on sales sites..
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2012, 09:50 PM
Post: #3
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
Thanks! The drive works fine, I'm using it now on my laptop, and using sharing to read it from the A300. I wanted to connected directly into the A300 to avoid the need of the laptop to be on.
But I'll keep searching about the 3TB compatibility issues

Thanks!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-09-2012, 08:54 PM
Post: #4
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
Does the popcorn A300 support GPT partition scheme and use the advance format technology?
If no, that might be the problem....if it does, I'm not sure, since the drive works on the same casing in my laptop....

Anyone with this 3TB WD Caviar Green (WS30EZRX) drive used through USB3.0?

Thanks!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-11-2012, 11:28 AM
Post: #5
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
Yes, it should be fine.

Advanced format is just 4k rather than 512mb sectors.

Remember only USB2 is supported on the A300. The USB3 Slave port is for transfers to/from a PC not a HDD.

I also remember a few posts saying that when formatting you should use 64k allocation size.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2012, 02:33 PM
Post: #6
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
Thanks for the reply. I thought all USB connections where 3.0....my bad (and really a shame).

If I have enough space to empty the drive, I'll try to reformat it.

Thanks!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2012, 12:43 AM
Post: #7
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
The chips in media players cannot cope with USB2 speeds let alone USB3. The USB3 Slave port only works at that speed as it has separate hardware and it is the PC cpu driving the transfer not the receiving product, the media player.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2012, 01:14 AM
Post: #8
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
(06-09-2012 08:54 PM)diegolaz Wrote:  Does the popcorn A300 support GPT partition scheme and use the advance format technology?

Can anyone confirm if Popcorn supports GPT initialized drives? I am a little confused reading over the compatibility wikis if this is supported.

Most of the drives listed are 2TB or under so it wouldn't matter. The one 3TB listed mentions the person didn't have access to the full capacity of the drive after formatting with NMT but indicates if you did format it with windows you could use it all.

However, I don't see any examples of anyone confirming this is the case in their own setups.

Has anyone used a drive great than 2TB with an NMT and was able to use the entire capacity of the drive?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2012, 03:16 PM
Post: #9
RE: 3TB on Thermaltake BlacX 5G (USB 3) not recognized
If you use the player to format via a NMT Apps installation then the HDD will only show 2.19Tb.

If you format the HDD on a PC to Ext or NTFS then it will show all 3Tb of storage. We have had posters confirm this in the past.

My understanding is that gpt is in but not in terms of the NMT Apps installation.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Username Password On PC not recognized Elvispookie 1 637 01-05-2013 05:20 AM
Last Post: Elvispookie
  Thermaltake CRYSTAL ORB A1178 alternatives? wterbeek 3 804 11-03-2012 08:13 PM
Last Post: stargeezer
  WD Passport SE 1 TB is recognized on A300 front USB slot and not on the back slot nah003 2 1,139 09-25-2012 02:33 PM
Last Post: nah003
  HDD st2000dl003 not recognized by a-300 Davy Geerts 0 682 04-11-2012 11:07 PM
Last Post: Davy Geerts
  A300 internal 2.5" SSD is not recognized drmaniac 2 2,898 12-13-2011 12:38 PM
Last Post: drmaniac

Forum Jump: