Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
How to remove front panel cable on main board?
07-21-2012, 06:47 PM
Post: #1
How to remove front panel cable on main board?
I need to send my main board in to be replaced. There is no directions on how
to get the front panel cable off the main board. All the directions say is remove, but it is not that easy. I assume the connector flips up, but would rather ask than break something.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 07:06 PM
Post: #2
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
don't forget to also ask support how.. which model?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 07:16 PM
Post: #3
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
C-300. Support gives a link to pictures, but does not say how to do it.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 07:25 PM
Post: #4
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
ok I don't have a c300 to open it up and tell you.. did you open it and look yet? might be a simple lift it up.. if you want me to look can you link me to the images.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 08:22 PM
Post: #5
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
I only have a C200 which does not have a TFT screen. It has a couple of white ribbon cables that require unplugging to disconnect it from the main board. Not sure what the C300 has inside it.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 09:29 PM (This post was last modified: 07-21-2012 09:29 PM by h2ofun.)
Post: #6
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
Here is a picture.

[Image: c300.JPG]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 09:31 PM (This post was last modified: 07-21-2012 09:31 PM by accident.)
Post: #7
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
just very carefully wiggle it back and forth very small amounts and you should start to see it slide out of the connector.. literally like 1 mm move the left, 1mm move the right. walk it out of the connector, it doesn't look like a latch but pressure holding it on
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 09:38 PM
Post: #8
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
Just tried, but it does not want to budge
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 09:49 PM
Post: #9
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
you need to pull the locking clip loose, they grey bits next to the cable form the locking clip , pull each side of it towards the edge of the pcb , it will only move 3-4 mm

All advice is supplied packaged by intellectual weight, and not by volume. Contents may settle slightly in transit.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 10:05 PM
Post: #10
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
oh is it one of those connectors where you slide the piece and it pops open?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 10:19 PM
Post: #11
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
That did not work either
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 10:23 PM
Post: #12
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
I'm not going to keep going back and forth for pretty much no info, it's just a waste of my time.. I'd like to see EVERYTHING they sent you on getting it ready to send them, just 1 image.

You may notice, nobody has ever posted this before who has sent it back so your either being too gingerly or missing something.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 10:26 PM
Post: #13
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
slide the grey peices on each side towards the end of the mobo, they will pull out while pulled out wiggle the ribbon and it should slide out.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-21-2012, 10:29 PM
Post: #14
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
That Grey piece is a single piece. I tried the sliding it and it broke one end off. Glad I am getting a new board. From the looks with it off, it might be
total friction, but if so, it is going to be tough to get back in. I have written support asking what the correct process is, so will let know the correct
procedure. Too bad the instructions to take the board out did not have any info on that cable, the other stuff was straight forward.

.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2012, 11:42 AM (This post was last modified: 07-22-2012 11:46 AM by Martien.)
Post: #15
RE: How to remove front panel cable on main board?
Oke I join this thread a liitle late but here is the instruction to remove/fix the flexboard:

This is a so called ZIF socket. ZIF stands for Zero Insertion Force.
The dark plastic part (lets call it a slider) acts as a slot to lock the flexboard.
To release the slot, use your 2 thumbnails to press it out (in the direction of the flexboard), only 1-2 mm is enough.

You can now pull the flexboard out of the socket safely. You may have to use some force because the flexboard tends to stick in the socket.

To insert the flexboard back, use 2 hands. Your left hand to prevent the slider from locking the flexboard to soon.
After succesfull insertion with your right hand (be carefull, it is a tight fit) use your fingernails again to press the slider back in.

Check the picture (post#6) to see if it is properly inserted. You should see only a fraction of the flexboard contact fingers.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  USB Slave Cable guerilla 0 530 09-24-2013 01:05 PM
Last Post: guerilla
  multiple libraries for YAMJ/Eversion and front-end menu garp99 3 905 04-07-2013 10:41 PM
Last Post: accident
  A-300 Replacement slave cable tokoloshe81 2 854 02-09-2013 10:16 PM
Last Post: Gtuinstra
  anyone using a 3TB harddisk in the a300 and able to connect it via the USB cable kiwitan 26 12,817 01-09-2013 09:06 AM
Last Post: werner
  WD Passport SE 1 TB is recognized on A300 front USB slot and not on the back slot nah003 2 1,140 09-25-2012 02:33 PM
Last Post: nah003
  USB slave cable doesn't work with USB 2.0 port bearcat04 8 3,121 07-12-2012 02:50 PM
Last Post: chris57
  A-300 slowdown when attaching network cable snarentrekker 7 1,294 04-30-2012 11:06 PM
Last Post: accident
  C-300 main pcb socket ifeliciano 2 740 04-29-2012 01:32 AM
Last Post: ifeliciano
  remote control / cable problem mortal 1 974 03-09-2012 01:21 PM
Last Post: chris57
  C300 front display: Can it be turned off? BKSinAZ 4 1,846 02-20-2012 06:38 PM
Last Post: chris57

Forum Jump: