Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Moving to a NAS...
07-28-2012, 03:10 PM
Post: #1
Moving to a NAS...
Hi,

I currently have a A-110 with an internal drive, and 2 external drives. I am moving all my media to a new NAS and will eliminate the 2 external drives. I imagine it makes sense to leave the internal drive in. What I'm not sure of, is what's the best idea for the Jukebox? Store it on the internal drive, or on the NAS?

Appreciate any input!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2012, 04:20 PM
Post: #2
RE: Moving to a NAS...
(07-28-2012 03:10 PM)PrairieSailor Wrote:  Hi,

I currently have a A-110 with an internal drive, and 2 external drives. I am moving all my media to a new NAS and will eliminate the 2 external drives. I imagine it makes sense to leave the internal drive in. What I'm not sure of, is what's the best idea for the Jukebox? Store it on the internal drive, or on the NAS?

Appreciate any input!

I have the same setup as your old setup, and am thinking of doing the same thing - can I ask what NAS you got? (was thinking of the synology ds212j or DS411j)....also interested in the answer to your question.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2012, 05:26 PM
Post: #3
RE: Moving to a NAS...
Have a look at overisght;
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/forumd...hp?fid=107

works perfectly on nas+hdd combination

My PCH-A110 Stats | Samsung LE32A656 | Logitech Z-2300 | Harmony One
Oversight | Sick Beard DOGnzb | NZBGet | Transmission | Lighttpd | ...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2012, 10:40 PM
Post: #4
RE: Moving to a NAS...
Not really looking to change jukeboxes. I'm happy with YAMJ, but need some advice.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2012, 11:56 PM
Post: #5
RE: Moving to a NAS...
May i suggest if you are getting a new NAS get one that can run Plex Media Server and keep a eye on the plexNMT,

but beside that i have run YAMJ from the NAS and it worked well as long as you get you paths right, easy with the GUI tool from what i can remember.

ReadyNAS Pro
- 4GB Memory, 9.2TB 72% used, Plex Media Server Ver.0.9.7.25, SABnzbd+, Sickbeard, CouchPotatoServer, Headphones
Popcorn Hour
- C-200 Firmware 03-04-120517-21-POP-408, No Hard Drive, No Apps Installed, Hardwire to Network via Netgear PowerLine XAV5004
plexNMT
- giHub
- Buy me a beer
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-29-2012, 12:33 AM
Post: #6
RE: Moving to a NAS...
(07-28-2012 03:10 PM)PrairieSailor Wrote:  I currently have a A-110 with an internal drive, and 2 external drives. I am moving all my media to a new NAS and will eliminate the 2 external drives. I imagine it makes sense to leave the internal drive in. What I'm not sure of, is what's the best idea for the Jukebox? Store it on the internal drive, or on the NAS?

The 110 does make use of the internal drive for a cache which is how the 1080p problem with locking up was solved. I agree with leaving the drive in or swapping it to the smallest drive you have/can find IF you are set to 1080p output. I have a 110 on a 720p native tv and don't need the drive and it works reliable.

Most leave it on the network share because of how the pch mounts drives. You need to go into the share in order to mount it so having the jukebox on the nas will start yamj and mount the share making it semi-family friendly.

Don't overplan things, it's just a copy and a minor output setting change to move the jukebox elsewhere. try it and see how you like it.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-30-2012, 02:33 PM
Post: #7
RE: Moving to a NAS...
(07-29-2012 12:33 AM)accident Wrote:  Most leave it on the network share because of how the pch mounts drives. You need to go into the share in order to mount it so having the jukebox on the nas will start yamj and mount the share making it semi-family friendly.

That I didn't know. So I guess storing the jukebox on the NAS is pretty much a given.
So from Gaya you have to browse to the NAS share manually, prior to running the INDEX if you store it elsewhere?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-30-2012, 04:33 PM
Post: #8
RE: Moving to a NAS...
I have a ZFS server. I store the Jukebox there, so I can access my library on all my TV that have a popcorn hour (which is all my TV... C300, A300, A110)
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2012, 06:12 AM
Post: #9
RE: Moving to a NAS...
(07-30-2012 02:33 PM)PrairieSailor Wrote:  So from Gaya you have to browse to the NAS share manually, prior to running the INDEX if you store it elsewhere?

Basically, yes.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to accident for this post
07-31-2012, 10:37 AM
Post: #10
RE: Moving to a NAS...
(07-30-2012 02:33 PM)PrairieSailor Wrote:  That I didn't know. So I guess storing the jukebox on the NAS is pretty much a given.
So from Gaya you have to browse to the NAS share manually, prior to running the INDEX if you store it elsewhere?
You can create a basic html file, call it index.html and leave it in the root of the A110. All it needs to do is point to the index.html file on the NAS.

It's what I do, and I use Calm to do it.

Here's a link to Omertron's website oof index replacements available for just this sort of thing.
http://mediaplayersite.com/skins?page=4

Hope this Helps.

NMT: Popcorn A110 with 2Tb Seagate ST2000DL003 internal HDD
TVs: Sony FullHD 46" LCD & NeoniQ FullHD 32" LCD
http://members.iinet.net.au/~spinner
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to Sinyk for this post
08-02-2012, 11:21 PM
Post: #11
RE: Moving to a NAS...
(07-31-2012 10:37 AM)Sinyk Wrote:  
(07-30-2012 02:33 PM)PrairieSailor Wrote:  That I didn't know. So I guess storing the jukebox on the NAS is pretty much a given.
So from Gaya you have to browse to the NAS share manually, prior to running the INDEX if you store it elsewhere?
You can create a basic html file, call it index.html and leave it in the root of the A110. All it needs to do is point to the index.html file on the NAS.

It's what I do, and I use Calm to do it.

Here's a link to Omertron's website oof index replacements available for just this sort of thing.
http://mediaplayersite.com/skins?page=4

Hope this Helps.

I hope you may be following the thread...

Would you know what the "path" would be to the NAS share? How do I determine that path to include in the re-direct in the root level index.htm?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2012, 07:08 PM
Post: #12
RE: Moving to a NAS...
I am using the RAID 5 Drobo FS. I used to use a Promis 4 disk unit but that was constantly giving me problems and when I wanted to move to larger hard drives it required that I pull everything off and rebuild for the new volume size.

The Drobo is considerably more expensive than other NAS devises but nothing beets it for ease of use.

Last month I ran out of space and swapped out two 2Tb drives for two 4Tb drives. I had to wait about 12 hours between drive swaps but I didn't have to do anything to the unit other than swap the drives and it automatically recalibrated for the new storage size.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2012, 07:12 PM
Post: #13
RE: Moving to a NAS...
that's how almost all models work. you just paid more money for it.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2012, 07:20 PM
Post: #14
RE: Moving to a NAS...
Do most models let you have multiple drive sizes and still maintain RAID 5 protection?
When I was using the Promis 4300NS it was a mess to configure and use.

Right now I am using 3 x 3Tb and 2 x 4Tb and have 13Tb of protected storage.
If you have other 5+ drive NAS solutions that can do this I would be interested in hearing about them.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2012, 08:21 PM (This post was last modified: 08-06-2012 08:24 PM by accident.)
Post: #15
RE: Moving to a NAS...
Readynas was the first to come out with it, drobo soon followed. Synology being the most popular because they offer models that where you can start with a couple slots of drives and add lower cost chassis expansions to them as your needs grow over time. Thecus I believe supports this now. I'm 99% sure qnap does not.

Most of the companies have older models still for sale without the feature so it's just a matter of making sure it's in the feature specs.

EDITED TO ADD:

The 1512 or 1812 is probably a good model for you. the number on the left is how many drives you can fit total if you added all the available expansion chassis they support. There is also larger having more drives up front.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [YAMJ] Moving movies between libraries seune 2 429 11-04-2013 08:19 PM
Last Post: seune
  Moving on from A110 - where do I take YAMJ now? JoyMonkey 3 596 03-03-2013 04:46 PM
Last Post: accident
  YAMJ Moving Folders, not playing anymore Clarifon 2 1,563 06-02-2011 01:39 PM
Last Post: Clarifon
  Moving Files from Internal HDD to NAS - shortcut the scan? Gustafarian 3 1,284 01-03-2011 01:06 AM
Last Post: accident
  [YAMJ 2.1 beta r1706] not moving new TV ep to top mhale62 6 2,303 07-22-2010 10:26 PM
Last Post: mhale62
  List View option - similar to Moving Pictures [mediaportal] bas_nl 9 3,077 02-16-2010 09:38 AM
Last Post: Omertron
  Moving from default to AEON skin dlevesque 2 1,435 10-30-2009 12:33 PM
Last Post: dlevesque

Forum Jump: