Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows) *New Version and Batch Conversion*
08-10-2008, 09:06 PM (This post was last modified: 05-07-2009 09:09 PM by spelosi.)
Post: #1
Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows) *New Version and Batch Conversion*
I've written a little tool in VB.net to make converting DTS to AC3 easier for us Windows users.

Install Avisynth-257.zip, mkvmerge, eac3to, delaycut (optional) and a version of .net. I'm not sure which one, since I am running on 3.5. 1.1 is probably fine.

EZmkvDTStoAC3 v1.2

What's new?

Multiple DTS tracks will now be converted automatically.

Tracks are assigned the correct language code when remuxed.

All audio tracks are now preserved when using the "Keep Current Audio" option.

English Audio Tracks are now set to the Default audio track.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/q2f32cvzmdy/EZmkvDTStoAC3 v12.zip

[Image: 2hzifxs.jpg]


EZmkvDTStoAC3 Batch Converter v1.2

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mwd4zxnyeyx/EZmkvDTStoAC3 Batch Converter v12.zip

[Image: 2drhvkx.jpg]


Put EZmkvDTStoAC3 in it's own directory, because it's going to generate a txt file that stores the locations of your mkvtoolnix and dts2ac3 folders.

Load up EZmkvDTStoAC3 and browse for the file or Directory you want to convert by clicking the "Load MKV/Dir" button.

Next, find the Mkvtoolnix, eac3to, and (optionally) delaycut directories using the browse buttons. You will only have to do this once.

You can choose whether or not you want to keep the current audio track, any Subs or Clean the DTS track before conversion by clicking the check boxes associated with each feature.

When you are ready to create your new mkv with AC3 audio, click the "Convert to AC3" button.

There should be a brief pause followed by some command boxes opening. Once everything is done you'll get a message.

I've done my best to account for scenarios where the user may end up inputting garbage, but I haven't gone overboard.

If you browse for a file to convert and then manually hose the new file name by including a path that doesn't exist, I suspect it will fail horribly and possibly not produce a meaningful error message.

If you specify everything correctly, I suspect you'll enjoy using this tool.

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks,

Steve
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 4 users say Thank You to spelosi for this post
08-11-2008, 03:45 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2008 02:48 PM by spelosi.)
Post: #2
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
After doing some thinking I realized that the long filename was not the problem.

I was not checking to see if the directory the user specified for the New Filename actually existed.

A new version is up.

http://www.mediafire.com/?xr7er0ktyuo
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2008, 04:08 PM
Post: #3
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
Hi,
this worked fine for me. The audio is in sync and works on popcorn hour. But now I can't seem to skip in the movie anymore. Do this program remove the index in the .mkv somehow?

What's new in the new version by the way?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2008, 04:22 PM (This post was last modified: 08-11-2008 04:24 PM by spelosi.)
Post: #4
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-11-2008 04:08 PM)frankive Wrote:  Hi,
this worked fine for me. The audio is in sync and works on popcorn hour. But now I can't seem to skip in the movie anymore. Do this program remove the index in the .mkv somehow?

What's new in the new version by the way?

Hmmm, that's odd. I haven't had that problem.

I am not removing any indexes (that I know of). I am just automating chris57's tutorial.

PM me the filename that you are converting and I'll see if it's the same on my system.

What's new in the new version - Program won't choke when you give it a non existant directory for the new filename.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2008, 05:41 PM
Post: #5
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
I will check if my original file can skip first.. I was pretty sure about that, but I will test it later tonight when I come back home.. Hopefully it's just my bad remembering and not your mkv program Rolleyes

Works great otherwise, using Ubuntu, but started up Windows Xp in a virtual Machine (Virtualbox) and run the program like that.. Cool
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2008, 06:39 PM
Post: #6
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-11-2008 05:41 PM)frankive Wrote:  I will check if my original file can skip first.. I was pretty sure about that, but I will test it later tonight when I come back home.. Hopefully it's just my bad remembering and not your mkv program Rolleyes

Works great otherwise, using Ubuntu, but started up Windows Xp in a virtual Machine (Virtualbox) and run the program like that.. Cool

Definitely let me know.

thanks,

Steve
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2008, 08:45 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2008 02:50 PM by spelosi.)
Post: #7
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
I noticed when I was manually extracting, converting, and remuxing the mkv files for movies over 2 hours that they would lose sound somewhere between 2 minutes and 20 minutes into the movie.

This happened with apocalypto, cast away, and batman (1989).

I'm not 100% sure it had to do with the movies being longer than 2 hours but that's what I'm seeing.

I narrowed the problem down to dts2ac3. Possibly aften.exe, but I'm not sure.

My tool was suffering from the same problem as the manual process, since it's the same process, only automated.

I've switched from dts2ac3 to eac3to.

eac3to seems to produce more realiable results.

I'll leave the old version for download if someone wants to use dts2ac3 for some reason, but a new version supporting eac3to is available.

EZmkvDTStoAC3 v.8
http://www.mediafire.com/?xr7er0ktyuo

eac3to
http://www.mediafire.com/?3xortdbgszo
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2008, 11:56 PM
Post: #8
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
With .7, I just get a bunch of high pitched squeling after conversion
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2008, 03:42 PM (This post was last modified: 08-13-2008 04:46 PM by spelosi.)
Post: #9
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-12-2008 11:56 PM)golf7 Wrote:  With .7, I just get a bunch of high pitched squeling after conversion


That's really weird. I haven't had an issue with it yet. Can you tell me which file you are converting? I'll give it a shot myself.

Steve
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2008, 08:17 PM
Post: #10
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
Before writing your app, did you bother to look at the thread of other user generated apps and noticed #9
AudioConverter by HeartWare.
Undecided
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2008, 08:24 PM (This post was last modified: 08-13-2008 08:25 PM by spelosi.)
Post: #11
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-13-2008 08:17 PM)garp99 Wrote:  Before writing your app, did you bother to look at the thread of other user generated apps and noticed #9
AudioConverter by HeartWare.
Undecided

Yeah, it looked great and I used it a few times, but it was failing to convert a few of my movies from dts to ac3.

I enjoyed writing it, I also enjoy how quick and easy it is to use.

I can convert a movie from DTS to ac3 in as little as 3 clicks, without the use of the keyboard (since it auto-renames the file for you by default.).

Many times similar tools exist to accomplish the same goal.

Thanks for the thoughtful comment though.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2008, 09:05 PM
Post: #12
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-13-2008 08:24 PM)spelosi Wrote:  Yeah, it looked great and I used it a few times, but it was failing to convert a few of my movies from dts to ac3.

What was the problem?

Keld R. Hansen
PopCorn MKV AudioConverter: Tutorial FAQ
YAMJ Poster Maker
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2008, 09:46 PM
Post: #13
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-13-2008 09:05 PM)HeartWare Wrote:  
(08-13-2008 08:24 PM)spelosi Wrote:  Yeah, it looked great and I used it a few times, but it was failing to convert a few of my movies from dts to ac3.

What was the problem?

It would just tell me that it could not convert the movie to ac3.

If I told it to convert the file to stereo it would work.

I think there was obviously something wrong with the dts track on the file. Not enough to make it not play, or not convertable by eac3to (it turned out dts2ac3 couldn't handle it either. Maybe aften was the problem), but enough to throw off whatever you are running it though.

I can PM you the file names if you want to give them a try yourself.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2008, 01:30 PM
Post: #14
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
I found my problem.

the directory structure had a & in the directoryname. Apparently it doesnt work with & in the directory/filename. I removed that, and it worked fine.

I think its a mkvtoolnix issue

great program.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2008, 02:28 PM
Post: #15
RE: Automated tool to convert DTS to AC3 (windows)
(08-14-2008 01:30 PM)golf7 Wrote:  I found my problem.

the directory structure had a & in the directoryname. Apparently it doesnt work with & in the directory/filename. I removed that, and it worked fine.

I think its a mkvtoolnix issue

great program.

Thanks for getting back to me.

I didn't test with special characters in the path name. I probably should have. I'll try to take a look at the code later today and see if I can do anything about it, or if it is an mkvtoolnix problem.

Thanks for the compliment on the program Smile
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Check & Repair Tool for Transport Streams of DVB/HDTV Recordings (TS-Doctor) Cypheros 447 259,020 03-26-2013 09:50 AM
Last Post: Cypheros
Tongue Tool for WMV/WMA Pro to MKV/AC3 conversion ooris 103 110,972 10-10-2011 10:06 PM
Last Post: Modify_inc
  Windows 7 NFS client to pch A110 - Working!! johnpoz 5 5,624 02-26-2011 06:59 AM
Last Post: zytham
  txt2srt - convert subtitles from common .txt formats elephant 3 4,467 11-24-2010 06:02 AM
Last Post: ayeah
  Windows 7 + File Sharing rndhotdog 2 2,348 06-23-2010 12:43 PM
Last Post: Frenk.M
  Problem mounting windows shares after reset kruuth 0 1,480 06-22-2010 06:14 AM
Last Post: kruuth
  how to chmod a file from windows? danjef 2 3,427 04-27-2010 04:46 PM
Last Post: danjef
  Slow speeds copying from A110 to Windows 7 LionelLazenby 0 1,743 03-19-2010 11:16 PM
Last Post: LionelLazenby
  Sharing folders in Windows 7 for streaming ? rclements 34 16,918 01-06-2010 08:44 PM
Last Post: rclements
  Ext2FS and Windows 7 64 antoniolgj 6 6,078 12-16-2009 10:57 PM
Last Post: antoniolgj

Forum Jump: